Men's Basketball Coaches
Jamill Jones
Jamill Jones
Assistant Coach
Jamill Jones

YEAR AT FGCU:2nd Season
ALMA MATER:Arkansas Tech '08
PHONE:(239) 590-7487

Jamill Jones enters his second season as an assistant coach on Joe Dooley’s staff in 2014-15.

During his initial season on the sidelines in 2013-14, Jones was instrumental in guiding the Eagles to their first Atlantic Sun Conference regular-season championship and first trip to the NIT. FGCU finished the year with a 22-13 record, including a record 14 wins as part of a 14-4 A-Sun mark. The 22 victories represented the second-most in FGCU’s Division-I era (2007-08).

Jones coached three all-conference picks during the season as Brett Comer and Bernard Thompson were both tabbed as A-Sun First Team members, and Chase Fieler was named to the A-Sun Second Team. Both Thompson and Fieler were named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team as well, and throughout the course of the year Comer earned two A-Sun Player of the Week awards while Fieler garnered one.

Prior to his arrival on the SWFL beach-lined campus in the summer of 2013, Jones spent five years as an assistant coach with Nike Team Takeover out of Washington, D.C. Over the five-year span, he worked with more than 70 Division-I scholarship players, and in 2010 captured the EYBL Championship under head coach Keith Stevens.

Jones also helped organize and run the 2011 and 2012 National High School Hoop Festival, in addition to serving as a skills instructor at the 2012 Nike Skills Summit.

Jones graduated from Arkansas Tech in 2008 after playing one season at North Platte Community College where he is one of 50 players in the program’s history to be named to the Athletic Department’s Hall of Fame.

Jones has recruited and coached the following players:
Jerian Grant (Notre Dame)
Victor Oladipo (NBA)
Darion Atkins (Virginia)
Julian Debose (FGCU)
Michael Gbinije (Syracuse)
Jerami Grant (Syracuse)
Arnaud Adala-Moto (Wake Forest)
James Robinson (Pittsburgh)
Andrew Calomeris (Indiana)
Beejay Anya (NC State)
Lennard Freeman (NC State)
Jairus Lyles (VCU)
Stanford Robinson (Indiana)
Ishmail Wainwright (Baylor)
Martin Geben (Notre Dame)
James Palmer (Miami)
Dion Wiley (Maryland)
Erik Green (NBA)