Named after Duane Swanson Sr., this award is bestowed upon individuals associated with FGCU Athletics who display perseverance, dedication, and determination when confronted with a life-altering event, while serving as a role model and inspiration to others.  Swanson was one of the pioneers of FGCU’s accent into the Division I ranks. The potential honoree can be a current student-athlete, staff member, or someone closely connected to the FGCU athletic program that personifies what the award should represent.

Duane Swanson Jr. Inspirational Award
Year Recipient Sport
2014 Argeo Cruz Men's Cross Country
2013 Joyce Iamstrong Women's Basketball
  Neal Studd Swimming & Diving
2012 Courtney Chihil Women's Basketball
 2011 Adam Glick Men's Soccer
 2010 Amber McCall  Women's Soccer