Louwsma Selected to Division II All-South Region First Team
Monday, May 23, 2005
FORT MYERS, Fla. – Florida Gulf Coast University shortstop Jason Louwsma (Sanford, Fla.) was named to the 2005 NCAA ABCA/Rawlings Division II “All-South” region team on Sunday. A first-team selection, Louwsma was chosen in a vote by head coaches in the region. Louwsma started all 55 games at shortstop for FGCU, which finished with a 37-18 record and posted a 19-game winning streak during the season. The junior led the team in hitting with a .374 batting average, hitting safely in 45 of 55 games. He posted 25 multiple-hit games, including a season best hitting streak of 11 games, and had 16 multiple RBI games. Louwsma also led the team in hits (80), doubles (19), triples (3), home runs (14), and RBI (61), as well as sacrifice flies, total bases and slugging percentage. His 14 home runs set a new single-season school record, as did his two grand slams. Members of the first team will advance to the national ballot for Division II All-America consideration. The other members of the first team include first baseman Fred Popp (Florida Southern), second baseman Chris O’Connor (Mars Hill), third baseman Lee Cruz (Tampa), infielder Ricky Sanchez (Barry), outfielders Jon Baksh (Florida Tech), Nick Diyorio (Florida Southern), Joe Savino (Eckerd) and Brian Chapman (Carson Newman), catcher Matt Keever (Lenoir Rhyne), designated hitter Jimbo Davis (Catawba) and pitchers Eduardo Chile (Rollins), Brent Gabel (Tusculum), Alex Gonzalez (Barry), Derek Antelo (Nova Southeastern) and reliever Kyle DeYoung (Florida Southern). The members of the second-team include pitchers Kenneth McGaughty (Miles), Matt Fairweather (Catawba), Kyle Ruwe (Nova), Sergio Perez (Tampa) and Aaron Cook (Tampa), infielders Derrick Calkin (Carson Newman), Aaron Rimer (Catawba), Brian Lima (Barry), Skip Talarek (Tusculum), Joe Castagner (Mars Hill), TJ Alonzo (Tampa), outfielders Nathan Gravely (Carson Newman), Ray Perez (Lynn), Lane Strobel (Mars Hill), and Orlando Rosales (Tampa), catcher Luis Dieguez (Rollins) and designated hitter Dawan Browning (Benedict). Louwsma became the second Eagle baseball player to earn all-region recognition, joining Jason Cooper, who was named to the 2004 first-team.