Wickens Placed on Initial Watch List for National Shortstop Award
Friday, May 01, 2009

LUBBOCK, Texas – New Mexico State shortstop Bryan Marquez of the 34-10 baseball team was named to the initial watch list for the 2009 Brooks Wallace Award for shortstops by the College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno, Wednesday, April 29.


Marquez (Bonny Lake, Wash.) leads the Western Athletic Conference in home runs with 19 and RBIs with 70, while he is second in batting average at .413.  He is joined by one other shortstop from the WAC, Kyle Bellow of San Jose State on the list.


This is the first time since its creation in 2004, the Wallace Award will honor the country’s finest shortstop.  Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year.


“Transitioning the Wallace Award to a position player award will give increased attention to the position that Brooks Wallace played when he was in college,” said Raymond Richardson, CBF board member and College Baseball Awards Show chair.  “The Wallace family embraced this idea and we are thrilled to honor Brooks in this way.”


Marquez was already named Louisville Slugger National Player of the Week honor after having spectacular performances from March 9-15.  He was also named WAC hitter of the Week during that same week.


During that week Marquez picked up a season-high in at-bats (5), hits (3) and tied a career-high in RBIs (5) as he hit a solo home run and the game tying grand slam to lead NM State to a 10-inning, 11-10 victory over Northern Colorado, March 15.  It was his second grand slam of the weekend, while he accounted for eight of the Aggies 11 runs that day with five RBIs, while crossing the plate three times.  It third time this season Marquez has hit two bombs in a game, while he leads the conference with 10 on the season.


He was also named to the College Baseball Foundation National Allstar Lineup and CollegeBaseballInsider.com Regional Player of the Week (West Region).


The watch list features shortstops from around the country including three from the Big 12, ACC, Big West and Conference USA.


The College Baseball Awards Show will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF’s annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.  In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award.  NM State Pitcher Daniel Simon is on the watch list for the National Pitcher of the Year Award.


Assistant coach Gary Ward was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame by the College Baseball Foundation in 2008, in Lubbock, Texas.




Name – School – Conference

Shaver Hanson – Baylor – Big 12

Kyle Smith – Cal Poly – Big West

Christian Colon – Cal State Fullerton – Big West

Brian Guinn – California – Pac-10

Zach Kayne – Davidson – Southern

Dustin Harrington – East Carolina – CUSA

Jordan Kreke – Eastern Illinois – OVC

Mike Mooney – Florida – SEC

Stephen Wickens – Florida Gulf Coast – Atlantic Sun

Stephen Cardullo – Florida State – ACC

Brian Pierce – Georgia Southern – Southern

Dereck Dietrich – Georgia Tech – ACC

Brandon Wikoff – Illinois – Big 10

David Herbek – James Madison – Colonial

Drew Biery – Kansas State – Big 12

Daniel Bierce – Lafayette – Patriot

Ben Soignier – Louisiana Monroe – Sun Belt

DJ LeMahieu – LSU – SEC

Nick DiMauro – Mercer – Atlantic Sun

Drew Lee – Morehead State – OVC

Bryan Marquez – New Mexico St. – WAC

Bryant Hernandez – Oklahoma – Big 12

Juan Martinez – Oral Roberts – Summit

Jeff Kemp – Radford – Big South

Dan Rhault – Rhode Island – Atlantic 10

Rick Hague – Rice – CUSA

Ryan Bennett – Saint Louis – Atlantic 10

Sean Nicol – San Diego – WCC

Kyle Bellows – San Jose State – WAC

Gary Helmick – Towson Colonial

Josh Prince – Tulane – CUSA

Ben Orloff – UC Irvine – Big West

Grant Green – USC – Pac-10

Matt Duffy – Vermont – America East

Tyler Cannon – Virginia – ACC

Jedd Gyorko – West Virginia – Big East

Terrence Dayleg – Western Kentucky – Sun Belt

Tyler Grimes – Wichita State – MVC