Dave Tollett Named Coach of the Year as Four Eagles Earn First Team Honors
Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Fort Myers, Fla. – Head Coach Dave Tollett claimed his second consecutive Coach of the Year award as FGCU placed four players on the All-Atlantic Sun  First Team, announced the Conference office on Tuesday.


For the first time in the history of the Atlantic Sun, players and coaches from four different institutions received the annual awards as Kennesaw State’s Chad Jenkins earned the Pitcher of the Year; Stetson’s Jeremy Cruz picked up the Player of the Year; Belmont’s Dylan Craig won Freshman of the Year and FGCU’s Dave Tollett repeated as Coach of the Year, the conference office announced on Tuesday.


Head Coach Dave Tollett became the fifth head coach to win back-to-back coach of the year honors. Tollett has led the Eagles to back-to-back regular season titles, combining for a 74-33 overall record and a 48-15 conference record in the Eagles two years in the A-Sun.


Much like in 2008 when FGCU also won the regular season title, the Eagles led the way with four members on the All-Atlantic Sun First Team, to go along with Tollett’s second consecutive Coach-of-the-Year award. A trio of sophomores led the Eagles representation in starting pitcher Chris Sale (7-4, 2.72 ERA, 104 K’s in 89.1 innings), third baseman Tim Roberson (.345 average, 19 HR, 65 RBI) and designated hitter Zach Maxfield (.383 average, league-best 20 HR, 66 RBI). From that group, only Sale made the All-Freshman team a season ago. Senior Josh Upchurch, the Eagles’ table-setter, shared the team lead in runs and led in triples and stolen bases.


Sophomore Stephen Wickens earned a spot on the All-Atlantic Sun Second Team. Wickens started every game this past season at shortstop. Wickens batted .356, scored 44 runs, and drove in 36 RBI.


Freshman Jason Forjet was named to the Atlantic Sun All-Freshman Team. Forjet finished the 2009 season with a 5.00 ERA, a 3-0 record, and struck out 28 batters.


The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.