Alvarez Named to A-Sun All-Tournament Team
Sunday, May 30, 2010

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Following the conclusion of the 2010 Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament, 11 players from five teams were honored as a part of this year’s A-Sun All-Tournament team. On that list was one FGCU Eagle. Mikel Alvarez was honored as a member of that elite list of players.

Alvarez (West Palm Beach, Fla.) finished the tournament with a .636 batting average, going 7-for-11 in three games. He had a pair of RBI and scored four runs. He also registered one homer, a .909 slugging percentage, and a .750 on-base percentage. His best performance came in FGCU’s 9-4 victory over Stetson in their first game of the tournament (May 25) when he went 3-for-4 with a home run, two RBI and a run scored.

The junior second baseman helped the Eagles to their third consecutive A-Sun Regular Season Title and also the No.1 seed in the Atlantic Sun Championships. The Blue and Green are currently 38-20 overall and finished the A-Sun regular season with a 25-5 record.

The Eagles will now await word from the NCAA selection committee to see if they receive an at-large bid into the NCAA Championships. The announcement is set to be made Monday, May 31 at 12:30 p.m. on ESPN.

A-Sun All-Tournament Team
P Brandon Love (Mercer)
P David Teasley (Mercer)
C Nick DiMauro (Mercer)
IF Jacob Tanis (Mercer)
IF Jamaal Hawkins (Jacksonville)
IF Paul Hoilman (ETSU)
IF Mikel Alvarez (FGCU)
OF Billy Burns (Mercer)
OF Preston Hale (UNF)
OF Matthew Scruggs (ETSU)
OF/P Chas Byrne (ETSU)

MVP Jacob Tanis (Mercer)