Louwsma Selected to Division II all-America Third-Team
Tuesday, May 31, 2005
FORT MYERS, Fla. – Florida Gulf Coast University standout Jason Louwsma (Sanford, Fla.) was named a third-team selection on the Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association NCAA Division II All-America team that was released Tuesday. The junior becomes FGCU’s first All-American in the program’s three-year history. He started all 55 games at shortstop for FGCU, leading the team in hitting with a .374 batting average, while hitting safely in 45 of 55 games. He posted 25 multiple-hit games, including a season best hitting streak of 11 games, and had 16 multiple RBI games. Louwsma also led the team in hits (80), doubles (19), triples (3), home runs (14), and RBI (61), as well as sacrifice flies, total bases and slugging percentage. His 14 home runs and two grand slams set new single-season school records. Louwsma was one of only two position players from the state of Florida to earn Division II All-America honors. Lee Cruz of the University of Tampa was the other. FGCU ended its season at 37-18 and posted a school-record 19-game winning streak during the season. Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association 2005 NCAA Division II All-Americans TOP HONORS Player of the year, Danny Powers, P, Senior, Central Missouri State Position player of the year, Shawn Callahan, SS, Senior, Central Missouri State Pitcher of the year, Power FIRST TEAM 1B, Adam Brechti, Senior, Wisconsin-Parkside 2B, Ryan Taylor, Junior, West Virginia State 3B, Joe Ramos, Senior, Chico State SS, Shawn Callahan, Senior, Central Missouri State INF, Beau Sullivan, Senior, Central Oklahoma C, Craig Newton, Senior, Delta State OF, Casey Smith, Senior, Erskine OF, Trent Pruitt, Senior, Montevallo OF, Sean Van Elderen, Junior, Mesa State OF, Brian Chapman, Senior, Carson-Newman DH, Jimbo Davis, Senior, Catawba P, Danny Powers, Senior, Central Missouri State P, Sergio Romo, Senior, Mesa State P, Derek Antelo, Senior, Nova Southeastern P, Matt Goyen, Junior, Georgia College RP, Matt Nalutka, Junior, Armstrong Atlantic State SECOND TEAM 1B, Aaron Rice, Senior, Cal State Bernardino 2B, Mike Klug, Senior, North Alabama 3B, Garrett Olson, Sophomore, Franklin Pierce SS, Mike Deveaux, Junior, Georgia College INF, Lee Cruz, Junior, Tampa C, Jon McDowell, Senior, West Virginia State OF, Brett Donahoo, Senior, Delta State OF, Will Bradley, Senior, Central Missouri State OF, Kevin Goode, Junior, West Virginia State OF, Antonio Sabatini, Senior, Erskine OF, Billy Emert, Senior, Cal State San Bernardino P, Brad Lightsey, Senior, Delta State P, Mike Stitz, Senior, Saint Joseph's P, Zach Baldwin, Junior, West Virginia State P, Brian Baker, Senior, Columbus State RP, Nick Webber, Junior, Central Missouri State THIRD TEAM 1B, Jerrod Novotny, Senior, Alderson-Broaddus 2B, Matt Goyea, Junior, USC Upstate 3B, Colby Pack, Junior, Southwest Minnesota State SS, Willie Hinojosa, Senior, Mesa State INF, Jason Louwsma, Junior, Florida Gulf Coast C, Kevin Gergel, Senior, Kennesaw State OF, Joe Holden, Junior, Molloy OF, Mickey Nichol, Senior, Pittsburg State OF, Jeff Bieker, Junior, Fort Hays State OF, Sadry Cafe, Senior, North Florida DH, Joe Korneta, Senior, Winona State P, Billy Sittig, Junior, Stonehill P, Matt Keller, Junior, Kutztown P, Taylor Wilding, Junior, Cal Poly Pomona P, Troy Cloyd, Senior, Nebraska-Omaha RP, Kyle DeYoung, Junior, Florida Southern