No. 2 FGCU to Face No. 7 Kennesaw State in Opening Round of A-Sun Championship
Saturday, May 18, 2013 | by Caleb Baker
Photo by Linwood Ferguson
Photo by Linwood Ferguson

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The 2013 Atlantic Sun Championship is set to commence on May 22-26 from the campus of Stetson in DeLand, Fla., and having secured the No. 2 seed in the league tournament the FGCU baseball team is set to face No. 7 seed Kennesaw State on Wednesday, May 22 beginning at 5 p.m.

The Eagles (37-18, 19-8 A-Sun) enter the A-Sun Championship as winners of 15 of their last 17 games. FGCU was strong down the final stretch of A-Sun play, recording a 13-2 mark in the final five series of league action.

In the regular season meeting between the two sides in Kennesaw, Ga., the Eagles battled back to win the series after dropping the opener 6-1. The Green and Blue took game two 5-3 and went on to clinch the series win with 4-1 victory.

FGCU travels to the A-Sun Championship after sweeping in-state rival Stetson in a three-game series at Swanson Stadium. The Green and Blue shutout the Hatters, 8-0, in Thursday’s opener, before recording a 9-6 win on Friday and a convincing 15-2 victory in the Saturday finale.

FGCU hit .407 in the series, scoring 32 runs and driving in 29 RBI over the trio of games. Suchy led the charge, hitting .615 (8-for-13) with team highs of eight RBI and five runs scored, slugging 1.154 with 15 total bases and a pair of home runs. Dwyer held a .545 average at the plate, bringing in six RBI and scoring twice, while Beisner connected at a .538 clip with 10 total bases, four RBI and four runs scored.

The Owls (26-28, 13-14 A-Sun) head to DeLand after dropping all three games in the A-Sun at Lipscomb over the weekend. KSU dropped the opener 6-1 on Thursday, and fell in both games of the Saturday doubleheader, 16-6 (8 inn.), 4-3 (7 inn.).

With Mercer (41-14, 20-7 A-Sun) winning its finale at Northern Kentucky, 13-4, the Bears clinched the A-Sun regular season championship and will enter the A-Sun Championship as the No. 1 overall seed.  

North Florida (38-17, 18-9 A-Sun), ETSU (32-22, 17-10 A-Sun) and Stetson rounded out the three, four and five seeds, respectively. USC Upstate (26-28, 9-18 A-Sun) locked in the No. 8 seed with its 4-3 finale victory over UNF, combined with Jacksonville dropping its game at ETSU, 11-4.

Day Passes for the A-Sun Championship will be available for $15 for General Admission (bleachers) and $20 for Reserved seating during the tournament ONLY. Tournament Passes are available for purchase until May 21 for $45 for General Admission (bleachers) and $55 for Reserved Seating by calling (386) 822-8110. Tournament Passes will not be sold during the tournament.

A full preview of the A-Sun Championship will be available at on Tuesday.