Banks Named to the A-Sun All-Freshman Squad
Tuesday, March 02, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Redshirt freshman Anthony Banks was named to the Atlantic Sun Conference All-Freshman team, as announced by the conference office on Tuesday. The newcomer was a unanimous selection to the team, a first for the FGCU men’s basketball program.

At the conclusion of the 2009-10 campaign, Banks (Lantana, Fla.) was FGCU’s leader in points with 374 (12.9 ppg), rebounds with 191 (6.6), field goal percentage (.567), while playing a team-high 796 minutes (27.4 mpg). The newcomer was second on the team in blocks (24) and third in steals (28), and committed only 41 turnovers, which is the fewest among players starting 15 or more games. Banks is also the only player to start all 29 contests for FGCU this season.

Banks’ season statistics rank him in a number of categories in the Atlantic Sun Conference. He ended the year 12th in scoring, eighth in rebounding (second in offensive rebounds), fourth in field goal percentage, 13th in blocks, and 24th in minutes played. The criminal justice major was also among the best in A-Sun competition, ranking 12th in scoring with 274 points (13.6 ppg), 10th in rebounding with (6.9 rpg), second in offensive rebounds (76), sixth in field goal percentage (.562), 12th in blocked shots (16), and 25th in minutes played with (27.9 mpg).

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Player of the Year
Adnan Hodzic, Lipscomb

First Team All-Conference
Daniel Emerson Mercer
*Adnan Hodzic Lipscomb
*Jonathan Rodriguez Campbell
Josh Slater Lipscomb
Ben Smith Jacksonville
* Unanimous Choice

Second Team All-Conference
Ian Clark Belmont
Lehmon Colbert Jacksonville
Markeith Cummings Kennesaw State
James Florence Mercer
Tommy Hubbard ETSU

Freshman of the Year
Ian Clark, Belmont

All-Freshman Team
* Anthony Banks FGCU
* Ian Clark Belmont
* Markeith Cummings Kennesaw State
Ridge Graham Stetson
Andy Diaz UNF
* Unanimous Choice

Defensive Player of the Year
Junard Hartley, Campbell

Coach of the Year
Robbie Laing, Campbell