Men's Basketball Lands Three on SFABC All-Decade Team
Monday, April 19, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Reed Baker (Naples, Fla.) and former Eagles Yavney Neptune and Brendan Rooney earned SFABC All-Decade team honors the Southwest Florida Association of Basketball Coaches released on Thursday, April 15.

“When we started the basketball program nine years ago, we talked about trying to get the best players in Southwest Florida to want to stay home and play for FGCU,” said FGCU head coach Dave Balza. “Having quality young men like Reed, Yavney and Brendan come through our program is a good sign for basketball in our area and it is a great thing for Florida Gulf Coast University.”

To be eligible, players had to graduate between 2001-10.

First Team:
Reed Baker (Bishop Verot), Robert Ferguson (Mariner), Lance Kearse (Fort Myers), Robinson Louisme (Fort Myers), Dago Pena (Charlotte)

Second Team:
Ryan Hornsby (Lely), Brennen Melvin (Bishop Verot), Yavney Neptune (Port Charlotte), Brendan Rooney (Fort Myers), Joey Woods (Golden Gate)

Third Team:
Dwayne Jackson (Mariner), Larry McClinton (Cypress Lake), Chris Stephenson (Charlotte), J.D Woods (Golden Gate), Mitch Woods (Community School of Naples)