Murray Named to the 2014 NCBWA All-America Third Team
Wednesday, June 11, 2014 | by Matt Moretti III (@Moretts13)

DALLAS, Texas - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association 19th annual Division I All-America baseball squads (first, second and third teams) again features a cavalcade of the nation’s elite players in 2014. FGCU ace right-hander Mike Murray has been named to the Third Team, adding to his already impressive list of accomplishments in 2014.

“Mike’s record setting year is continuing to get well-deserved recognition,” head coach Dave Tollett added. “He is one of three All-Americans that we have ever had and to continue to be put in the same categories as Chris Sale says a lot about how great he was this year and how great he could become."

Murray (West Palm Beach, Fla./Forrest Hill HS) had arguably the greatest season any FGCU pitcher has ever had with a program record 13 wins and an A-Sun best 1.85 ERA to go with 79 strikeouts which also led the league. Murray became the fourth A-Sun Pitcher of the Year that FGCU has had. He joined the group of Richard Bleier (2008), Chris Sale (2010) and Ricky Knapp (2012), all of which are now playing professional baseball. He was also tabbed to the A-Sun First Team. Murray was a Freshman All-American last season.

Murray was one of just nine pitchers in the A-Sun in the last 10 years to win double-digit games in a season. The sophomore was a semifinalist for the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award which names college baseball’s best player, has also been named to the 18-Man College Baseball Hall of Fame Pitcher of the Year watch list and is a Louisville Slugger Second Team All-American in recognition of the stellar season he put together. His name is mentioned alongside players from all of the power conferences including in-state rivals and perennial college baseball powers, Florida State, Miami and Florida. He is the only player on the College Baseball Hall of Fame watch list that comes from the A-Sun.

Earlier this season Murray became just the second pitcher in FGCU history to throw back-to-back complete games. Ricky Knapp did so in March of 2012 when he went the distance against North Florida and East Tennessee State in consecutive outings. During his streak of 43.1 innings without allowing an earned run, which led the nation this season and was snapped at Stetson, Murray’s ERA dropped as low as 0.18 at one point.

The balance in the talent on each of these three teams again indicates the close competition among 302 DI schools for the coveted eight places in the June 14-25 NCAA World Series starting Saturday at TD Ameritrade Park.

In fact, the All-America team is represented by 39 different teams and 17 conferences. There are 23 Division I circuit players or pitchers of the year on the three units, and 10 standouts who led their teams to NCAA Super Regionals and/or the ’14 NCAA World Series.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Eagles finished the season with a 39-22 record and their 19-8 mark in the A-Sun earned the program a fourth A-Sun Regular Season Championship. Fans can get updates and information on FGCU baseball by visiting or by following the team on twitter @FGCU_Baseball.

First Team
Position Players

*C Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State, Jr.
*1B Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State, Jr.
*2B Jace Conrad, UL Lafayette, Jr.
3B Daniel Miles, Tennessee Tech, Sr.
SS Trea Turner, N.C. State, Jr.
*OF Michael Conforto, Oregon State, Jr.
*OF Michael Katz, William & Mary, Jr.
OF Brandon Thomasson, Tennessee Tech, Sr.
OF Drew Weeks, North Florida, Jr.
DH Derek Gibson, Southeast Missouri State, Sr.
*UT A.J. Reed, Kentucky, Jr.

^SP Aaron Nola, LSU, Jr.
SP Ben Wetzler, Oregon State, Sr.
SP Blake Fox, Rice, So.
SP Casey Bloomquist, Cal Poly, So.
^SP Jace Fry, Oregon State, Jr.
RP Brendan McCurry, Oklahoma State, Sr.
RP Nick Burdi, Louisville, Jr.
RP Sam Moore, UC Irvine, Jr.

Second Team

Position Players
C Kyle Schwarber, Indiana, Jr.
*1B Matt Tellor, Southeast Missouri State, Sr.
*2B Ryan Seiz, Liberty, Jr.
3B Dustin Demuth, Indiana, Sr.
SS Dylan Bosheers, Tennessee Tech, Jr.
*OF D.J. Stewart, Florida State, So.
OF Caleb Adams, UL Lafayette, Jr.
*OF Jeff Gardner, Louisville, Sr.
OF Chase Harris, New Mexico, Sr.
DH Bryan Soloman, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.
^UT Aaron Brown, Pepperdine, Jr.

SP Brandon Finnegan, TCU, Jr.
^SP Nathan Kirby, Virginia, So.
SP Matt Imhof, Cal Poly, Jr.
SP Kyle Funkhouser, Louisville, So.
^SP Joey DeNato, Indiana, Sr.
^SP Preston Morrison, TCU, Jr.
RP Michael Cederoth, San Diego State, Jr.
RP Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State, Jr.
RP Joel Seddon, South Carolina, Jr.

Third Team
Position Players

C Will Allen, Ole Miss, Sr.
*1B Connor Joe, San Diego, Jr.
*2B Mark Mathias, Cal Poly, So.
3B Scott Schaub, Jacksonville, Sr.
SS Michael Russell, North Carolina, Jr.
OF Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss, Jr.
*OF Casey Jones, Elon, Jr.
OF Bradley Zimmer, San Francisco, Jr.
OF Chase Raffield, Georgia State, Sr.
DH Blaise Salter, Michigan State, Jr.
UT Louie Lechich, San Diego, Sr.

^SP Kyle Freeland, Evansville, Jr.
^SP Mike Murray, FGCU, So.
^SP Andrew Morales, UC Irvine, Jr.
^SP Sam Street, Texas-Pan American, Sr.
SP Tyler Davis, Washington, Jr.
SP Thomas Eshelman, Cal State Fullerton, So.
RP Bryan Garcia, Miami (Fla.), Fr.
RP Riley Ferrell, TCU, So.
RP Ryan Thompson, Campbell, Jr.
RP Ryan Williams, East Carolina, Sr.

*Conference Player of the Year
^Conference Pitcher of the Year