Sherwood Brown & Sarah Hansen Named FGCU's Most Outstanding Student-Athletes
Thursday, August 22, 2013 | by Jason MacBain (@JaBain)
Sherwood Brown and Sarah Hansen have been named the recipients of FGCU's 2012-13 Most Outstanding Male & Female Student-Athlete awards.
Sherwood Brown and Sarah Hansen have been named the recipients of FGCU's 2012-13 Most Outstanding Male & Female Student-Athlete awards.

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Following a 2012-13 season in which the FGCU men’s basketball team advanced to the Sweet 16 and the women’s basketball team qualified for its record-setting sixth straight postseason, the Athletic Department has named recently graduated Sherwood Brown and redshirt senior Sarah Hansen its recipients of the 2012-13 Most Outstanding Male & Female Student-Athlete awards.

Brown (Orlando, Fla./Olympia HS) was the leader of FGCU’s unprecedented run in the NCAA Tournament. He put together arguably the best statistical campaign in program history en route to being named Atlantic Sun Player of the Year and earned a spot on the Associated Press All-American Honorable Mention list.

Hansen (McKean, Pa./General McLane HS) becomes just the third two-time winner of the award since the department began handing it out following the 2002-03 season. Like Brown, Hansen was the A-Sun Player of the Year, in addition to being named to the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Women’s Scholar-Athlete Team.

“We congratulate Sarah and Sherwood for their terrific A-Sun Player of the Year seasons, and for being chosen from another overall outstanding group of finalists,” said Director of Athletics Ken Kavanagh. “It is a truly great honor and testament to Sarah to be a repeat winner, even more so given that she also became FGCU’s first-ever Division I Academic All-American last year. Likewise, it was a very fitting way for Sherwood to end his “Dunk City” career. His rise from initially being a non-scholarship student-athlete, demonstrates his perseverance and is heartwarming to have witnessed and an example for so many others to keep their dreams alive.

“Equally as important, both have represented FGCU extraordinarily well as overall ambassadors for the University. They have earned the adoration of children and adults alike, have served as tremendous leaders for their teams and have garnered the respect of their peers while bringing honor and distinction to FGCU as a whole.”

Brown was one of just three A-Sun players ranked in the top-10 in the league in both scoring (15.5) and rebounding (6.7) as he led FGCU in both categories last year, earning All-Conference First Team honors – one of just two unanimous selections. The guard posted team highs of 16 points and 8.3 rebounds during the A-Sun Tournament as he was named Tournament MVP and landed on the All-Tournament Team for the second straight year.

After guiding FGCU to its first league title, Brown checked in No. 3 on Bleacher Report’s “10 Players You’ll Remember from the NCAA Tournament,” as his dynamic personality and team-best 18.3 point and 7.7 rebound average left an indelible mark on the nation as the Eagles flew to the Sweet 16 with upsets over Georgetown and San Diego State.

A league-high three-time winner of the A-Sun Player of the Week award, Brown reached double figures in a team-best 32 outings, including eight 20-point contests. He also became the first FGCU player in history to record four consecutive double-doubles, something he accomplished against conference competition Jan. 10-19. For the year, Brown had five of the Green and Blue’s seven double-doubles.

He was named an NABC All-District 3 Team member after leading the Eagles in scoring in 18 games, rebounding on 16 occasions and pacing the team in both categories eight times. A road warrior, Brown averaged 16.1 points on the road last year and reached double-figure scoring in 21 of his final 22 true road games. Brown graduated as the all-time program leader with 589 rebounds, and was the first FGCU player to reach 1,000 points and 500 rebounds.

Brown guided FGCU to a program-record 26 wins, including a stalwart 15-1 mark in Alico Arena. The Eagles won 14 of their final 17 games, and Brown served as the catalyst of the historic NCAA march as FGCU became the first 15-seed to advance to the Sweet 16, earning the “Dunk City” moniker along the way.

As for Hansen – who still has another year of eligibility – she orchestrated another record-setting campaign in 2012-13, leading the Eagles in scoring (16.3) and rebounding (7.5) to rank second and seventh, respectively, in the A-Sun. She finished in double figures a club-best 31 times, reaching the 20-point mark on nine occasions and recording eight double-doubles.

Perhaps even more impressive than her basketball accolades is what Hansen accomplished in the classroom where the chemistry major and math minor earned a 3.94 cumulative GPA to become FGCU’s first Capital One Academic All-American. Hansen also repeats on the aforementioned DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team, making FGCU the only school in the A-Sun with a member on the team, and also the only team in the state of Florida represented. In addition, Hansen was tabbed as the A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Furthermore, Hanson was named theCollege Sports MadnessA-Sun Player of the Year and earned spots on the A-Sun All-Conference First Team,College Sports MadnessA-Sun First Team,College Sports MadnessAll-Mid Major First Team andFull CourtMid-Major All-American Honorable Mention teams.

Hansen is one of just two players in program history to have recorded 1,400 points and 600 rebounds (Adrienne McNally, 2006-10). She enters the 2013-14 season ranking first in FGCU history with 1,439 points and second in total rebounds (644), steals (185) and offensive rebounds (238), third in defensive rebounds (406) and ninth in assists (186).

FGCU finished the year 27-7, earned a third-consecutive regular-season title and became the first team in A-Sun history to go undefeated (18-0) in league play back-to-back seasons. The Eagles – who also have paced the nation in 3-pointers made each of the past two years – advanced to the postseason (WNIT) for the sixth straight year, extending the longest consecutive postseason streak in NCAA history for a new D-I program.

Hansen is the fifth different women’s basketball player to win or share the female award, while Brown is the fourth men’s basketball player to take or share the male honor. A women’s basketball player has been named, or at least shared, the Most Outstanding Female Student-Athlete four straight years, while Brown becomes the first men’s basketball player to win the award in the D-I era (2007-08).

2012-13 –Sherwood Brown (M. Basketball) & Sarah Hansen (W. Basketball)
2011-12 –Ricky Knapp (Baseball) & Sarah Hansen (W. Basketball) 
2010-11 –Adam Glick (M. Soccer) & Shannon Murphy (W. Basketball)/Courtney Platt (Softball) 
2009-10 –Chris Sale (Baseball) & Chelsea Lyles (W. Basketball) 
2008-09 –Josh Upchurch (Baseball) & Cheyenne Jenks (Softball) 
2007-08 –Jason Peacock (Baseball) & Carmen Paez (Softball) 
2006-07 –Beau Bauer (M. Basketball) & Kate Schrader (W. Basketball) 
2005-06 –Juan Carlos Osorio (Men’s Tennis)/Jason Louwsma (Baseball) & Kate Schrader (W. Basketball) 
2004-05 –Bryan Crislip (M. Basketball)/Richard Stempnowski (M. Tennis) & Kelly Powe (Softball) 
2003-04 –Leighton Bowie (M. Basketball) & Kelly Powe (Softball) 
2002-03 –Chris Brown (Baseball) & Trish Fleming (W. Basketball)

2013-14 season tickets for both the men’s and women’s basketball teams are selling quickly. Fans can reserve their seat(s) by visiting the Alico Arena Ticket Office, calling 239-590-7145 or logging on to