Perzanowski Makes @FGCU_XC History With Win At Atlantic Sun Championships
Saturday, November 02, 2013 | by Sara Roberts (@Saraannerob)
Seniors Kelly Perzanowski and Argeo Cruz led the Eagles for the fifth time this season (Photo Courtesy of the Atlantic Sun)
Seniors Kelly Perzanowski and Argeo Cruz led the Eagles for the fifth time this season (Photo Courtesy of the Atlantic Sun)

NASHVILLE – In the first Atlantic Sun Conference Championship event of the 2013-14 academic year, the FGCU men’s and women’s cross country teams put the Eagles on pace for a second-consecutive sweep of the A-Sun All-Sport trophies, as they continued to prove 2013 as the best season in program history. Highlighting this Championship Saturday was the men’s team’s fourth-place finish, to tie the best in program history, and senior Kelly Perzanowski’s (St. Clairsville, Ohio/St. Clairsville HS) win in the women’s 5k to give the Green and Blue their first-ever individual cross country A-Sun champion.

“Kelly’s performance was outstanding,” head coach Cassandra Goodson said. “After working incredibly hard for four years she deserves these results and the praises that are accompanied. Her performance this weekend builds a great momentum leading into NCAA regional championships.”

Finishing the race in 17:21.02, the sixth-fastest winning time in conference history, Perzanowski’s run yielded seemingly the best results possible as she crossed first to set an FGCU program record while being named to the All-Conference First Team and Atlantic Sun Female Runner of the Year. Crossing 16 seconds behind her in second place was Jacksonville’s Svenja Meyer, who beat Perzanowski in their last meeting at the FSU Invitational three weeks prior. Saturday’s victory marked Perzanowski’s third win and fourth reset of a program record over the five races of her final season.

“It feels pretty great,” Perzanowski said. “My team and I have been working so hard throughout this entire season, so to have a good turnout just feels so amazing. We started training in the summer and have been putting in work all year just for this one race, which is a lot of pressure. So it feels good to win and see what you’ve been working for turn out well.”

To begin the day the men’s team duplicated its program-best finish from last season’s championship race as three runners claiming a spot in the top 15. Making this their best race in conference championship history, the Eagles scored a program-record 92 points and had an individual finish in the top 5 for the first time.

Leading the Eagles was Argeo Cruz (Immokalee, Fla./Immokalee HS) with a time of 25:18.18 to finish in fourth place and earn First Team All-Conference accolades. Finishing in 10th and receiving Second Team All-Conference honors was Austin Boetje (Lawrenceville, Ga./Mill Creek HS/Georgia State) (25:45.40), while Nathan Kandie (Iten, Kenya/University of Arizona) rounded out the trio of top performances in 15th place (25:57.14).  

Taking home the top prize with a landslide victory was Lipscomb with a score of 29, followed by Northern Kentucky in second (82) and East Tennessee State in third (83).

“Argeo ran a strong race,” Goodson said. “This is the highest any FGCU men’s runner has ever finished at A-Sun Championships, so we’re proud of this historic moment. As far as the team goes, being a short 10 points out of second place is tough. To their credit, they fought hard with everything they had and I’m proud of the effort they exerted in a rapidly-improving conference.”

With Perzanowski at the helm, the FGCU women’s team saw two others finish under the 20-minute mark as Alicen Wilbur (Pine Island, Fla./Ida S. Baker HS) claimed 34th place (19:31.36) and Courtney Corradetti (Oceanside, Calif./Vista HS) took 40th (19:49.05).  

The Eagles finished eighth overall with 183 points while the Lipscomb women won the top title for the third year in a row with 32 points.  

The Eagles will now turn their attention to the NCAA South Regional Championships in Tuscaloosa, Ala., Nov. 15.


Team Results
1. Lipscomb – 26
2. Northern Kentucky – 82
3. ETSU – 83
4. FGCU – 92
5. North Florida – 107
6. USC Upstate – 155
7. Mercer – 194
8. Stetson - 273
8. Jacksonville – 273
10. Kennesaw St. – 303

FGCU Individual Results
4. Argeo Cruz – 25:18.18
10. Austin Boetje – 25:45.40
15. Nathan Kandie – 25:57.14
31. Courtland Bernard – 26:34.81
32. Chris Rudloff – 26:35.63
38. Charles Bengtson – 26:58.92
42. Alex Delle Monache – 27:30.78
59. Aaron Rojas – 28:17.78

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team
J.J. Weber, Northern Kentucky – Runner of the Year
Juan Gonzalez, Lipscomb
Christian Freeman, Lipscomb
Argeo Cruz, FGCU
Daniel Gardner, Lipscomb
Michael Damato, North Florida
John Kingstedt, Lipscomb

Atlantic Sun All-Conference Second Team
Filip Jalovy, ETSU
Tim Muller, Lipscomb 
Austin Boetje, FGCU
Ross Oden, USC Upstate
Jared Wingerter, Lipscomb 
Geoff Musick, Lipscomb 
Zac Holtkamp, Northern Kentucky


Team Results
1. Lipscomb – 32
2. ETSU – 84
3. North Florida – 92
4. Jacksonville – 140
5. Northern Kentucky – 145
6. Mercer – 148
7. USC Upstate – 149
8. FGCU – 183
9. Kennesaw St. – 237
10. Stetson - 252 

FGCU Individual Results
1. Kelly Perzanowski – 17:21.02
32. Alicen Wilbur – 19:31.36
38. Courtney Corradetti – 19:49.05
53. Regan Farrow – 20:21.62
59. Gretchen MacMillan – 20:38.01
63. Amanda Restivo – 20:50.66
66. Kelsey English – 21:04.88
68. Stephanie Cajas – 21:13.43

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team
Kelly Perzanowski, FGCU – Runner of the Year
Svenja Meyer, Jacksonville
Katie Hirko, ETSU
Sally Larson, Lipscomb
Tessa Hoefle, Lipscomb
Madelin Talbert, Lipscomb
Dani Walker, Lipscomb