FGCU Set For FAU Spring Break Championship
Thursday, March 24, 2011

DELRAY BEACH, Fla. – The FGCU men’s golf team will get its final tune up before the Atlantic Sun Championships in mid-April by taking part in the 16-team FAU Spring Break Championship this weekend at Gleneagles Country Club.

The tournament will feature four of Golf Week’s current top 100 teams, four Big Ten programs and four others from BCS schools. No. 24 Ohio State is the highest ranked team in the field followed by No. 38 Northwestern, FGCU at No. 76 and Minnesota at No. 77.

Play will begin with a shotgun start at 11:30 a.m. on Friday on the par 72, 6750-yard Legends Golf Course.

FGCU has turned in three straight top 5s at strong tournaments, placing second at the Rice Intercollegiate, third at the USF Invitational and fifth at the UCF Rio Pinar Invitational. As a team, FGCU sports a team stroke average of 291.3 through nine tournaments with at least one under-par round in six events. The 291.3 is on pace to set the single-season record.

Coming off his third career individual win at the Rio Pinar Invitational, senior Dan Mazziotta (Fort Myers, Fla./Cypress Lake HS) will make his 25th straight start for the Eagles. Mazziotta has placed in the top 20 in 10 straight tournaments and sports a 71.5 stroke average through 27 rounds. The Fort Myers product set the career record for rounds at par or lower during his last outing and is just one round away from equaling the single-season record.

The junior trio of Alex Medinis (Fort Myers, Fla./Fort Myers HS), Gyles Robin (Jersey, England/De La Salle College) and Patrick Williams (Toronto, Canada/Crescent School) along with freshman Matt Cote (Palm Harbor, Fla./Palm Harbor University HS) round out the rest of the rest of the Eagles making the trip.

The 54-hole tournament will feature one round on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Dan Mazziotta, Sr.
Alex Medinis, Jr.
Gyles Robins, Jr.
Patrick Williams, Jr.
Matt Cote, Fr.

TOURNAMENT FIELD (Golf Week Ranking)
UConn (185)
DePaul (211)
Eastern Michigan (113)
FAU (176)
FGCU (76)
Marquette (153)
Marshall (138)
Miami-Ohio (112)
Michigan State (160)
Minnesota (77)
Murray State (133)
Northern Illinois (162)
Nebraska (114)
Ohio State (24)
Northwestern (38)
USF (193)