Men's Golf to Compete in South Region Championship
Tuesday, May 01, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- Eighty teams and fifty individuals have been selected to participate in the 2007 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships super regionals. The super regionals will be conducted May 7-9. The sites and teams selected to participate are listed below.

Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution's name. The five super regional tournaments encompass the current ten regions. The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 22-25 at The Meadows in Allendale, Michigan. The finals will be hosted by Grand Valley State University.

10 additional teams will earn berths to the finals. These teams will be determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals.

For the 2007 championships, the additional super regional allotments are as follows:

Atlantic/Southeast -- Three

South/South Central -- Four

West/Northwest -- Three


Robert Trent Jones Trail at the Shoals; Florence, Alabama; hosted by the University of North Alabama.

South Region: 1. West Florida Gulf South Conference] 2. Nova Southeastern Sunshine State Conference] 3. Florida Southern 4. Florida Gulf Coast 5. Barry 6. Valdosta State 7. North Alabama 8. Lynn

Individuals: 1. Jeff Golden, Rollins 2. Justin Regier, Florida Tech 3. Jarred Carlyle, Arkansas Tech 4. B.J. Hawkins, Arkansas Tech 5. C.J. Denmark, Eckerd

South Central Region: 1. St. Edward's Heartland Conference] 2. Central Oklahoma 3. Abilene Christian 4. Northeastern State Lone Star Conference] 5. Cameron 6. St. Mary's (Texas) 7. Midwestern State 8. Texas A&M-Commerce

Individuals: 1. Pat McCarthy, Southwestern Oklahoma State 2. Kent Neil, West Texas A&M 3. Tyler Kimrey, East Central 4. Rodolfo Gamino, Lincoln (Missouri) 5. Mack Hamilton, Southeastern Oklahoma State