Pena, Hernandez Garner Atlantic Sun Men’s Golf Postseason Accolades
Wednesday, May 02, 2012 | by Patrick Pierson (@pierson_sid)
Pena was named to the All-Conference 2nd team, while Hernandez landed on the All-Freshmen squad.
Pena was named to the All-Conference 2nd team, while Hernandez landed on the All-Freshmen squad.

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The Atlantic Sun Conference handed out its men’s golf postseason accolades on Wednesday, as FGCU senior Brandon Pena (Clewiston, Fla./Clewiston HS) landed on the All-Conference second team and inaugural Academic All-Conference squad, while freshman Jack Hernandez (Fort Myers, Fla./Bishop Verot HS) earned a spot on the All-Freshmen team.

The All-Conference second team selection is the second in as many years for Pena, while Hernandez’s selection to the All-Freshmen team marks the third time in the four-year history of the rookie squad that the Eagles have been represented. Both players earned A-Sun Golfer of the Week two times during the 2011-12 campaign.

Currently ranked No. 112 in the Golfstat Cup rankings and hopeful of a berth into the NCAA Championship, Pena’s illustrious four-year career has featured a senior campaign in which he sports a team-low 72.5 stroke average. Pena is just one of two players to participate in all 11 tournaments, providing a counting score in 32 of 33 rounds thanks in part to seven top 10s. The Clewiston, Fla. product’s team-high 18 par or lower rounds are highlighted by a 71(-1)-67(-5)-68(-4)/206(-10) scorecard at the Cobra-PUMA Invitational hosted by Xavier in which he took home medalist honors.

Pena is currently second all-time in the FGCU record books in career rounds played (100), counting scores (90), par or lower rounds (40), and third in career scoring average (73.3). Over 34 career tournaments, he posted 24 top 20s, a solid 15 top 10s and a counting score in 90 of 100 rounds. Pena also finished in the top 15 in all four of his A-Sun Championship appearances.

He also owns four of the top 13 54-hole scores in program history, led by the previously mentioned -10 206 at the Cobra-PUMA Invite that ranks fifth. Pena’s best single-round came at the 2010 A-Sun Championship when he fired a conference final round record seven-under par 65 to help him finish second overall.

Recently graduating with a 3.65 GPA and an engineering degree, Pena was a finalist for the Eagle Scholar Athlete Award at the 2012 FGCU Athletics Awards Ceremony and is a nominee for the Capital One Academic All-America® Men’s At-Large team.

One of two unanimous selections to the A-Sun All-Freshmen team, Hernandez made an immediate impact in his first campaign with the Green and Blue. The Fort Myers product turned in a counting score in all 29 rounds he played, ranking second on the team with a 73.3 stroke average. Like Pena, Hernandez’s five top 10 finishes were highlighted by taking home medalist honors at one event. At UCF Rio Pinar Invitational, Hernandez coupled a four-under 68 in the second round with a final round five-under 67 to finish first on the 86-player leaderboard. In all, Hernandez had 14 rounds at par or lower, including a string of eight in a row late in the spring season.

UNF, who won the A-Sun Championship from April 16-18 at Chateau Elan Legends Course (Braselton, Ga.), leads four A-Sun schools in the top 100 of the latest Golf Week rankings at No. 12. The Ospreys earned the conference’s automatic berth into one of the six regions of the NCAA Championships, which will be unveiled live on on Monday, May 7 at 9 p.m.

FGCU finished fourth at the Atlantic Sun Championship and won four team titles in the fall under second-year head coach Brent Jensen.

Atlantic Sun Men’s Golf Postseason Honors
Golfer of the Year: Sean Dale, UNF
Freshman of the Year: Joey Petronio, UNF
Coach of the Year: Scott Schroeder, UNF
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Rhys Enoch, ETSU

All-Conference First Team
*Sam Ryder – Sr. – Stetson
*Sean Dale – Jr. – UNF
Matthew Nagy – Sr. – Kennesaw State
Kevin Aylwin – Sr. – UNF
Kevin Phelan – Jr. – UNF

All-Conference Second Team
Rhys Enoch – Sr. – ETSU
Brandon Pena – Sr. – FGCU
Jeff Karlsson – Jr. – Kennesaw State
James Beale – So. – Mercer
Joey Petronio – Fr. – UNF

All-Freshmen Team
*Joey Petronio – UNF
*Jack Hernandez – FGCU
Scott Gibson – ETSU
Jimmy Beck – Kennesaw State
MJ Maguire – UNF

Academic All-Conference Team
*Rhys Enoch – Sr. – ETSU
*Brandon Pena – Sr. – FGCU
Ben Greene – Jr. – Kennesaw State
Jeff Karlsson – Sr. – Kennesaw State
Thomas Holmes – Jr. – Mercer
Sam Ryder – Sr. – Stetson *-Unanimous Selection