DiStefano and Harrison Earn A-Sun All Freshman Team Honors
Tuesday, November 11, 2008

MACON, Ga. - FGCU's leaders in goals this season, Francesco DiStefano and Scott Harrison earned Atlantic Sun All Freshman Team honors, the conference announced Tuesday.

DiStefano (Kissimmee, Fla.) started 14 of FGCU’s games this season and was a catalyst for the Eagles on offense.  DiStefano ended the season ranking first in goals (tied-6) and game-winning goals (tied-2), second on the team in points (15), and third in assists (3). DiStefano's 15 points ranked him ninth in the A-Sun this year.

Harrison (Cocoa, Fla.) joins DiStefano on the All-Freshman Team. Harrison started in 17 of the 18 games for the Eagles this season and played a big part in FGCU’s offensive attack. Harrison ended the season ranking first on the team in points (17), goals (tied-6), assists (5), and shots on goal (23). Harrison's 17 points ranked him eighth in the A-Sun this year.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.