Men's Soccer Picked Sixth in A-Sun Preseason Poll
Thursday, August 20, 2009

FORT MYERS, Fla. - The FGCU men's soccer team, which finished 6-10-2 overall (3-5-1 A-Sun) in 2008, was picked to finish sixth in the preseason men’s soccer poll, the conference office announced on Thursday.

Jacksonville claimed the A-Sun tournament title a season ago in a dramatic 4-3 win over Campbell. The Dolphins went on to the NCAA tournament defeating Louisville in the first-round before falling to North Carolina in the second-round. JU picked up six first-place votes for the regular season title and also six first-place votes for the tournament championship.

Campbell picked up 85 points and ranked second in the preseason poll. The Camels claimed the regular season Atlantic Sun title a year ago and have not lost a regular season A-Sun game since Oct. 13, 2007. FGCU racked up 55 points to finish sixth in the rankings (five points behind fifth place Belmont).

Jacksonville also led the way in preseason all-conference selections with three. Goalkeeper Joey posted a 1.19 goals-against average, five shutouts and a .756 save percentage all tops among return A-Sun goalies. Defenseman Eddie Munnelly and mid-fielder Stefan Runeman join Sanchez on the preseason All-Conference team.

Lipscomb placed three of its members on the pre-season All-Conference team. Miguel DaSilva leads the way with as the Atlantic Sun Preseason Player of the Year. DaSilva led the conference in points in 2008 posting 29 points (9 goals and 11 assists) in 21 games. He was also fifth in the league in goals scored and finished tied for the conference lead in assists. Sophomore forward Garret Pettis and senior defenseman Kezi Lara also earned preseason All-Conference honors.

Senior mid-fielder Vince Petrasso is one of two preseason all-conference selections for Campbell. Petrasso was a first-team all-conference choice in 2008 and ranked fourth in league in game-winning goals (3), fifth in goals per game (0.47) and seventh in points per game (1.13). Joining Petrasso on the all-conference preseason squad is senior forward Jason Keever. Keever was a second-team Atlantic Sun All-Conference selection and earned A-Sun All-Academic honors for second consecutive season.

Stetson’s Fredrik Brustad was named to the preseason All-Conference team after a season in which he played in 15 games (nine starts) and netted five goals to tie for the team lead. Brustad is joined on the preseason All-League team by Robert Hodge who started 16 games in 2008 and recorded one goal and one assist.

Rounding out the 2009 A-Sun Preseason All-Conference team is FGCU’s junior goalkeeper Adam Glick (Leola, Pa.). Glick, who earned preseason All-Conference honors for the first time in his collegiate career, was third in the A-Sun a season ago in goal-against average (1.36), fourth in save percentage (.756) and third in shutouts with four.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Preseason Poll
School (Points)
Jacksonville 92
Campbell 85
Lipscomb 78
Stetson 72
Belmont 60
UNF 33
Mercer 22
USC Upstate 17

Tournament Champ: Jacksonville

Preseason All-Conference Team
GK Joey Sanchez JU
GK Adam Glick FGCU
D Robert Hodge STET
D Eddie Munnelly JU
D Kezi Lara LIP
MF Vince Petrasso CAM - unanimous choice
MF Strefan Runeman JU
MF Fredrik Brustad STET
F Miguel DaSilva LIP
F Jason Keever CAM
F Garret Pettis LIP

Preseason Player of the Year: Miguel DaSilva, Lipscomb