FGCUAthletics.com
Portillo, Baton Rouge Capitals Advance to 2010 PDL Final Four
Monday, August 02, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – With a 2-1 victory in the Southern Conference final on Friday evening, junior Josey Portillo (Metairie, La.) and the Baton Rouge Capitals defeated sophomore Westin Vallentine (Spring, Texas) and the Houston Leones, securing their spot in the final four of the 2010 PDL Playoffs.

“It is important for our program to have two student-athletes representing FGCU in such a recognizable fixture, like the PDL Southern Conference Championship,” said FGCU head coach Bob Butehorn. “Both Josey and Wes have done a tremendous job as ambassadors of FGCU men’s soccer.”

Semifinal matches will be played on Friday, August 6 (times TBD) in Portland, Ore., with the #2 seeded Thunder Bay Chill (Central Conference), the 2008 PDL Champs, taking on #3 Baton Rouge Capitals in the first matchup. The second semifinal will feature the top-seeded Portland Timbers U23s (Western Conference) vs. #4 Reading United (Eastern Conference). Seeds were determined based on regular season final standings.

The 2010 PDL Championship match will take place at 4 p.m. PT (7 p.m. ET) on Saturday, August 7, live on FOX Soccer Channel. The consolation match is set for 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET).