Portillo, Jones Earn NSCAA All-South Region Honors
Wednesday, December 08, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Earning first and second team recognition respectively, FGCU men's soccer junior Josey Portillo (Metairie, La./Grace King HS) and sophomore Deion Jones (Tampa, Fla./Freedom HS) were selected to the NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-South Region teams, announced on Wednesday.

“I am extremely pleased for both Josey and Deion,” said fourth-year head coach Bob Butehorn. “They are two outstanding representatives of our university and our men’s soccer program. The recognition is well deserved by both.”

Joining student-athletes from Duke, North Carolina, UCF, South Carolina and Elon, Portillo is the lone representative from the Atlantic Sun conference on the media outlet’s first team. The business administration major finished second on the FGCU squad with 12 points off four goals and four assists, with three goals and four assists in A-Sun play. Known for his quickness and tremendous ball handling ability, Portillo netted two game-winning goals on the year and contributed greatly to the offensive attack that held a 24-goal advantage over its competition this season, earning a spot on the A-Sun All-Conference first team.

Rounding out the pair of Eagles, Jones’ efforts from the defensive position earned him a spot on the All-South region second team. The environmental studies major had a breakout season, leading the Eagles with 17 points off seven goals, good for second in the A-Sun, and three assists. Netting three game-winners this season, Jones was instrumental in helping the Blue and Green outscore its opponents 35-11 on the year. As an A-Sun All-Conference first team selection, the free-kick specialist was also an A-Sun Player of the Week selection and was twice named to TopDrawerSoccer.com’s National Team of the Week and once by College Soccer News. Adding to his list of recognition, Jones was named to the ESPN Academic All-District 3 second team, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

A total of four A-Sun schools claimed student-athletes on this year’s All-South region teams. Aside from the FGCU duo, ETSU and Lipscomb combined for three second team awards (ETSU with two) while Stetson earned one second team honor and pair of third team honorees.

The Eagles have improved in each of their four seasons, culminating with a 13-3-2 record this season, their first-ever A-Sun regular season title and spending several weeks in the national rankings by several media outlets. The win against UNF on Oct. 31 sealed an unbeaten record in A-Sun action for the Blue and Green, marking just the ninth time in conference history a team has accomplished the feat. Dating back to the 2009 season, the Eagles have gone 14-2 over their last 16 A-Sun contests and are currently riding an 11-game A-Sun home unbeaten streak (10-0-1). 

Despite winning the A-Sun regular season, FGCU was unable to compete in the conference and NCAA postseason tournaments due to the NCAA reclassifying period. FGCU will be eligible for postseason play in 2011. The Eagles are set to return 27 players, including 10 starters and six all-conference performers, next season.

The National Soccer Coaches Association of America serves as the recognized leader in naming All-America soccer players. The NSCAA selects All-America teams at every level of play. Through its annual sponsorship of the All-America teams, NSCAA provides coaches the opportunity to help their players receive richly deserved recognition while helping promote the growth of the sport.

NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-South Region First Team
GK James Michael Belshaw – Duke
D Eddie Ababio – North Carolina
D Jalil Anibaba – North Carolina
D James Andrew Wenger – Duke
M Warren Creavalle – UCF
M Michael Farfan – North Carolina
M Enzo Martinez – North Carolina
M Josey Portillo - FGCU
F Blake Brettschneider – South Carolina
F Ryan Patrick Finley – Duke
F Chris Thomas – Elon