FGCU Men's Soccer Falls to Furman
Sunday, September 02, 2007

Myrtle Beach, S.C. - The Florida Gulf Coast University men's soccer team lost for the first time during its inaugural season, falling to Furman 3-0 in the second day of action at the CCU/Adidas Invitational.

FGCU falls to 1-1 overall this season, while Furman improves to 2-0.

The Paladins got on the board first in the 26th minute of the game when Patrick White scored his first collegiate goal when he buried a header off of a corner and an assist from Michael Erwood.

The first period ended with Furman taking a slight 1-0 edge going into halftime. FGCU was outshot 6-2 and lost the corner kick battle 5-1 in the first half.

The second half was played fairly even until Curt McDonald took a Shea Salinas pass and beat keeper Adam Glick (Leola, Pa.) with a 20-yard shot to net his first collegiate goal in the 72nd minute and extend the lead to 2-0. Haris Cekic would go add to Furman’s lead when he scored at 82:24 taking a Brooks Duff pass and beating Glick with a shot just inside the right post.

Furman’s win over the Eagles gave the Paladins the tournament title as the only undefeated team. Arjun Jani (Sarasota, Fla.), Colin Gill (Plant City, Fla.) and Matthew O’Shaughnessy (Trinity, Fla.) were named to the all-tournament team.

Furman keeper Bryan Amos tallied two saves while Adam Glick notched six stops for FGCU. The Eagles were outshot 17-5 and lost the corner kick battle 12-4. Trent Anderson (Tampa, Fla.) led the Eagles in shots (2), while Anderson and Ben Foerstner (Tampa, Fla.) tied for the team lead in shots on goal (1).

The Eagles will be back in action for their home opener Friday, September 7 at 7:00 pm, when they host the Runnin' Rebels of UNLV.

CCU/Adidas Invitational All-Tournament Team

Jon Leathers (Furman) *Defensive MVP

Eliot Paschalis (Furman) *Offensive MVP

Michael Erwood (Furman)

Eric Baffour (Furman)

Arjun Jani (FGCU)

Colin Gill (FGCU)

Matthew O’Shaughnessy (FGCU)

Colin Baker (Saint Joseph’s)

Mike McInaw (Saint Joseph’s)

Djamel Bekka (Coastal Carolina)

Kelly Porter (Coastal Carolina)