Men's Soccer Claims Five All-Conference Awards
Thursday, November 05, 2009 | by Caleb Baker

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The Florida Gulf Coast University men’s soccer team earned five Atlantic Sun awards as the All-Conference teams were announced on Thursday. Receiving honors were Goalkeeper Matthew Smith, Defenseman Matthew O’Shaughnessy, Midfielder Cristian Raudales, and Freshmen Westin Vallentine and Jeremy Vollmer.

The A-Sun All-Conference teams are voted on by the conference head coaches and sports information directors.

Announced by the conference on Thursday, three Eagles were named to the All-Atlantic Sun Conference Second Team and two players have earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team.

Being selected to the second team, FGCU Junior Goalkeeper Matthew Smith (Cape Canaveral, Fla.) started every game in goal for the Eagles on his way to his first all-conference award. Accumulating 1393 minutes in net, he finished fourth in the A-Sun with a save percentage of 0.737, fifth in saves with 56, second in goals against average with 1.21, and tied for first in shutouts with six, which is his career best. Smith averaged 3.50 saves per game and obtained a career best eight wins on the year.

Also selected to the second team was Junior Defenseman Matthew O’Shaughnessy (Trinity, Fla.). O’Shaughnessy provided the defensive backbone for the Eagles on the year. He started every match and played every minute this season for FGCU. His defensive skills contributed greatly to the five shutouts on the year and with his solid play, the Eagles finished second in the A-Sun in goals against average with 1.21.

Rounding out the second team selections for the Eagles was Sophomore Midfielder Cristian Raudales (Bradenton, Fla.). Raudales provided the offensive firepower for the Eagles throughout the season. He finished tied for ninth in the A-Sun with five goals, tied for eighth with 13 points, and tied for the A-Sun lead with three game winning goals. Raudales started every game for FGCU and played over 1200 minutes this year. He is 1-1 on penalty kick attempts and has accumulated 24 shots with nine shots on goal, as well as, three assists on the year.

Earning All-Freshman team honors was Midfielder Jeremy Vollmer (Carmel, Ind.). Vollmer started every game for the Eagles in his freshman campaign, accumulating 1286 minutes which puts him third on the team in minutes played. He has been instrumental in winning possession battles for the Eagles throughout the season. Showing good shot selection, Vollmer has two shots on goal and a .500 shot on goal percentage.

Also being named to the All-Freshman team was Forward Westin Vallentine(Spring, Texas).The Eagles received solid play from Vallentine in his first collegiate season. Vallentine hit the game winning goal in overtime against USC Upstate. His five goals tie him for ninth in the A-Sun. He has ten points on the year and the two game winning goals on the season places him in a tie for fifth. Vallentine has accumulated 21 shots with 11 shots on goal, boasting a .524 shot on goal percentage.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

First Team All-Conference
GK - Scott Rosman, ETSU
D - Robert Hodge, Stetson
D - Matthew Hollyoak, UNF
D - Eddie Munnelly, Jacksonville
MF - Fredrik Brustad, Stetson
MF - Ian Cameron, Mercer
MF - Vince Petrasso, Campbell
MF - Stefan Runeman, Jacksonville
F - Miguel DaSilva, Lipscomb
F - Griffin Gilstrap, Stetson
F - Kevin Munz, Stetson

Second-Team All-Conference
GK – Pat Regna, USC Upstate
GK - Mathew Smith, FGCU
D – Kezi Lara, Lipscomb
D – Justin Madrid, Campbell
D – Matthew O’Shaughnessy, FGCU
D - Guilherme Reis, ETSU
MF - Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell
MF - Sean Hoek, ETSU
MF - Cristian Raudales, FGCU
F - Khalil Johnson, Campbell
F - Adam O’Neill, UNF
F - Aaron Schoenfeld, ETSU
F - Brandon Tarr, Belmont

Player of the Year – Vince Petrasso, Campbell
Defensive Player of the Year – Robert Hodge, Stetson
Coach of the Year - Doug Hess, Campbell
Freshman of the Year – Brandon Tarr, Belmont

All-Freshman Team
MF - Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell
MF - Davide Faga, Jacksonville
MF - Jonathan Mendoza, Stetson
MF - Alesi Osorio, ETSU
GK - Brett Petricek, Mercer
MF - Justin Smith, Campbell
F - Brandon Tarr, Belmont
D - Filip Terland, Jacksonville
F - Keegan Terry, Campbell
F - Westin Vallentine, FGCU
MF - Jeremy Vollmer, FGCU

F - Theo Yang, ETSU