Program-Best Seven Eagles Earn A-Sun Postseason Honors
Friday, November 05, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – After running the table with a perfect 9-0 record in conference play and outscoring its opponents 26-2 in those contests, the No.19 FGCU men’s soccer team claimed eight Atlantic Sun All-Conference honors, announced by the league office on Friday. The Eagles landed four players on the first team, one on the second team, two All-Freshmen selections and junior keeper Adam Glick (Leola, Pa./Conestoga Valley HS) earned the Defensive Player of the Year.

“These are great accomplishments for both the student-athletes who earned the recognition, as well as, for the entire FGCU men’s soccer program,” said fourth-year head coach Bob Butehorn. “Their hard work and dedication has helped us get to where we are today and it’s a great reflection of our whole program.”

Picking up the eight conference awards this season marks the most any FGCU team has received in the four years it has been competing in the A-Sun. The Eagles have had a pair of players named to the A-Sun All-Freshmen team in each of their four seasons but it wasn’t until the 2009 season that the Blue and Green had a player named to anything higher, as they claimed three second team performers a season ago.

Also named to the A-Sun All-Conference first team, Glick shutout six of the eight A-Sun opponents faced and held two non-conference foes scoreless, including then-No.5 Ohio State. The Eagles’ vocal leader allowed just two goals in A-Sun play, one of which came on a penalty kick, while leading the A-Sun in goals allowed (11), goals against average (0.62), save percentage (.853), shutouts (8), shutouts per game (0.47) and ranked second in saves (64). Furthermore, Glick was a two-time A-Sun Defensive Player of the Week honoree this season.

In his final season in an FGCU uniform, senior defenseman Matthew O’Shaughnessy (Trinity, Fla./J.W. Mitchell HS) also earned A-Sun All-Conference first team honors. The criminal justice major headed a backline that held nine opponents scoreless, including seven in the A-Sun and led the defense that allowed just two goals in conference play. An A-Sun Defensive Player of the Week selection, O’Shaughnessy scored two points this season off a game-winning goal that was scored at the 109:59 mark on a 60-yard free-kick in double OT against VCU (Sept. 4). The Eagles’ captain exits as the program’s leader in minutes played, games started and games played, as well as in the top 10 in five other statistical categories.

The third player to earn a spot as an A-Sun first-teamer was sophomore defenseman Deion Jones (Tampa, Fla./Freedom HS). The environmental studies major had a breakout season, leading the Eagles with 17 points off seven goals, good for second in the A-Sun, and three assists. Netting three game-winners this season, Jones was instrumental in helping the Blue and Green outscore its opponents 35-11 on the year. The free-kick specialist was also an A-Sun Player of the Week selection and was twice named to’s National Team of the Week and once by College Soccer News. Adding to his list of recognition on Tuesday, Jones was named to the ESPN Academic All-District 3 second team, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Rounding out the Eagles’ quartet of first team members was junior midfielder Josey Portillo (Metairie, La./Grace King HS). The business administration major finished second on team with 12 points off four goals and four assists, with three goals and four assists in A-Sun play. Known for his quickness and tremendous ball handling ability, Portillo netted two game-winning goals on the year and contributed greatly to the offensive attack that held a 24-goal advantage over its competition this season.

Equally as deserving as the aforementioned first team players, junior midfielder Cristian Raudales (Bradenton, Fla./Manatee HS) picked up A-Sun All-Conference second team honors. As the leader of the Eagles’ midfield, Raudales ended the year with nine points off four goals and one assist, with a pair of goals and the lone assist coming in A-Sun competition. The civil engineering major also netted one game-winning in the Blue and Green’s contest with FIU (Sept. 24).

For the fourth-straight year, FGCU continued its trend of landing a duo of players on the A-Sun All-Freshmen team with the release of this season’s squad. One of four unanimous selections, forward Ryan Price (Melbourne Beach, Fla./Melbourne HS) finished second on the team with 12 points off six goals, including two game-winners. The human performance major netted four goals in A-Sun play, which is good for sixth in the conference. Price scored his first two collegiate goals against nationally-ranked opponents, picking up a goal at then-No. 13 USF and the game winner against then-No. 5 Ohio State.

Joining Price on the All-Freshmen team and contributing to the freshmen highlight reel was midfielder Donovan Henry (Parkland, Fla./Stoneman Douglas HS). Henry was very decisive on the pitch as he recorded eight points on one goal and a team-high six assists. The newcomer tallied his only goal, a game-winner, and registered five assists in A-Sun competitions. Needing just one season to write his name in the record book, Henry set the FGCU single-season assist record, as well as, the single-game assists record (3) in the season finale against UNF (Oct. 31).

The No. 19 Eagles have improved in each of their four seasons, culminating with a 13-3-2 record this season. The win against UNF sealed an unbeaten record in A-Sun action for the Blue and Green, marking just the ninth time in conference history a team has accomplished the feat. Dating back to the end of the 2009 season, the Eagles have gone 14-2 over their last 16 A-Sun contests and are currently riding an 11-game A-Sun home unbeaten streak (10-0-1). FGCU is set to return 27 players, including 10 starters, next season.

Despite winning the A-Sun regular season, FGCU cannot compete in the conference postseason tournament due to the NCAA reclassifying period. FGCU will be eligible for postseason play in 2011.

Player of the Year
Fredrik Brustad, Stetson

Defensive Player of the Year
Adam Glick, FGCU

Coach of the Year
Scott Calabrese, ETSU

Freshman of the Year
Itode Fubara, ETSU

First Team
Adam Glick, FGCU - GK
Guilherme Reis, ETSU - D
Deion Jones, FGCU – D
Matthew O’Shaughnessy, FGCU – D

Ryan Corning, Stetson – D
Fredrik Brustad, Stetson – MF
Jonathan Mendoza, Stetson – MF
Josey Portillo, FGCU – MF
Itode Fubara, ETSU – MF
Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell – MF
Aaron Schoenfeld, ETSU – F
Nedim Hrustic, Jacksonville – F
Garrett Pettis, Lipscomb - F
*Due to a tie in voting 13 players appear on the first team all-conference

Second Team
Brett Petricek, Mercer – GK
Tobias Hottner, Jacksonville – D
Ben Iiames, Campbell – D
Josh Shutter, Mercer – D
Gonzalo de Mujica, Stetson – MF
Ian Cameron, Mercer - MF
Cristian Raudales, FGCU – MF
Khalil Johnson, Campbell – F
Brandon Tarr, Belmont – F
Miguel DaSilva, Lipscomb – F
Richie Edmondson, Mercer – F

All-Freshman Team
*Nico Olsak, Belmont
*Itode Fubara, ETSU
*Ryan Price, FGCU
*Andreas Schnabl, Stetson
David Geno, ETSU
Donovan Henry, FGCU
Martin Resch, Jacksonville
Kevin Barbar, Lipscomb
Ryan King, Mercer
Taylor Krek, Mercer
Justin Franz, Campbell
Blake Woodruff, ETSU
* Unanimous Choice