Sale Named College Pitcher of the Year Semifinalist by CBF
Wednesday, June 09, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Junior left-hander Chris Sale continued to pull in accolades on Wednesday when he was named one of 10 semifinalists on the College Baseball Foundation's Pitcher of the Year Watch List.

The award will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 2 as part of a weeklong celebration of college baseball put on by the College Baseball Foundation that also includes the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Joining Sale on the list are: Seth Blair (Arizona State), Noe Ramirez (Cal State Fullerton), Anthony Meo (Coastal Carolina), Drew Pomeranz (Ole Miss), Alex Wimmers (Ohio State), Chance Ruffin (Texas), John Stilson (Texas A&M), Danny Hultzen (Virginia), Matt Purke (TCU).

The 13th overall pick in the 2010 MLB Draft by the Chicago White Sox, Sale finished the year with an 11-0 record with two saves and a 2.01 ERA in 17 appearances. He also racked up 146 strikeouts with just 14 walks for a strikeout-to-walk ratio of 10.4-to-1 for the year.

The Eagles’ lefthander, who earned 2010 Atlantic Sun Conference Pitcher of the Year and First Team All-Atlantic Sun honors, led the A-Sun in all three of the pitching Triple Crown categories during the regular season - an unblemished 10-0 record, a 1.97 ERA and 135 strikeouts. His 146 strikeouts during the 2010 campaign places him in fifth place on the A-Sun’s single season strikeouts list (tied with FIU’s Evan Thomas; 1995) and is the most in the league since Justin Pope of UCF sat down 158 in 2001.

The Lakeland, Fla. native has also been named Collegiate Baseball's National Player of the Year and a Louisville Slugger NCAA Division I First-Team All-American.

In his junior campaign, Sale was critical to the Blue and Green’s success and helped the program win their third consecutive A-Sun Regular Season crown as he posted huge non-conference wins over Wichita State and Clemson.

Seth Blair, Jr. – Arizona State
Noe Ramirez, So. – Cal State Fullerton
Anthony Meo, So. – Coastal Carolina
Chris Sale, Jr. – Florida Gulf Coast
Drew Pomeranz, Jr. – Mississippi
Alex Wimmers, Jr. – Ohio State
Chance Ruffin, Jr. – Texas
John Stilson, So. – Texas A&M
Danny Hultzen, So. – Virginia
Matt Purke, Fr. – TCU