Alvarez, Knapp Earn A-Sun Postseason Honors
Tuesday, May 24, 2011

FORT MYERS, Fla. – FGCU baseball senior second baseman Mikel Alvarez (West Palm Beach, Fla./Palm Beach Central HS) added another Atlantic Sun postseason accolade to his illustrious four-year resume on Tuesday when the All-Conference teams were announced by the league office. Alvarez was named to the All-Conference second team, while right-hander Ricky Knapp (Port Charlotte, Fla./Port Charlotte HS) was named to the All-Freshmen team.

It marks the second time in Alvarez’s career that he’s been named to the second team, but the fourth straight season he’s earned a postseason award from the A-Sun. Knapp is the fifth player in FGCU history to be named to the A-Sun All-Freshmen squad.

Alvarez produced the third straight .300 batting average of his career en route to becoming the program’s all-time hits leader with 316. He finished the season with a .324 average, starting all 55 games at second base while also supplying 72 hits, 17 doubles, two triples, a grand slam and 36 RBI. Alvarez’s 44 walks ranked second in the A-Sun and combined with his 20 multi-hit efforts raised his on-base percentage to .430. Like the first three years of his career, Alvarez excelled in clutch situations, batting .452 (28-62) with runners in scoring position.

A native of West Palm Beach, Fla., Alvarez is one of just seven players in A-Sun history to surpass the 300-hit plateau and currently ranks fourth among active players in the entire nation with his 316 hits. Alvarez was selected to the A-Sun All-Conference first team in 2010, second team in 2009 and was an All-Freshmen choice in 2008. As a junior in 2010, he set a program single-season record with 99 hits while posting the second-best batting average in school history at .409. Over 214 games, he finished with a .360 batting average, 202 runs scored, 138 walks, 45 doubles and 153 RBI – all of which rank in the top five all-time.

Knapp became a reliable A-Sun weekend starter midway through the season, finishing with a 5-1 record and a 5.06 ERA. A 44th round selection by the Detroit Tigers in the summer of 2010, Knapp led the Eagles in wins, appearances (22), starts (10) and innings pitched (69.1). Out of Knapp’s 10 starts, the Eagles went 7-3, including 3-1 in game two of four A-Sun series. Knapp struck out 51 batters over 69.1 innings, going six or more innings in four games. The Eagles finished the regular season with a 27-28 overall record and a 16-14 mark in A-Sun contests. Finishing seventh in the standings, the Blue and Green became the first team since 1999 to not make the conference tournament after ending the season two games above .500.

Atlantic Sun Postseason Awards Player of the Year: Adam Brett Walker, Jacksonville Pitcher of the Year: Kurt Schulter, Stetson Coach of the Year: Pete Dunn, Stetson Freshman of the Year: Alex Bacon, UNF

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team
SP Matt Hamann, Belmont
SP Brandon Love, Mercer
SP Kurt Schulter, Stetson
RP *Bo Reeder, ETSU
C Nick Rickles, Stetson
1B Adam Brett Walker, Jacksonville
2B Robert Crews, Stetson
3B Jacob Tanis, Mercer
SS Mark Jones, Stetson
OF Dylan Craig, Belmont
OF Aaron Dobbs, Kennesaw State
OF Blake Green, USC Upstate
OF *Dan Gulbransen, Jacksonville
DH Nate Woods, Belmont
* Unanimous Selection

Second Team
SP Chase Brookshire, Belmont
SP Derek Bushey, ETSU
SP Lindsey Caughel, Stetson
SP Steve Eagerton, Jacksonville
RP Chris Anderson, Jacksonville
C Ronnie Freeman, Kennesaw State
1B Andy Chriscaden, Kennesaw State
2B Mikel Alvarez, FGCU
3B Bo Reeder, ETSU
SS Jimmy Howick, Jacksonville
OF Billy Burns, Mercer
OF Thomas Carroll, Mercer
OF M.L. Williams, Lipscomb
DH Joe Winker, Mercer

All-Freshmen Team
OF *Alex Bacon, UNF
OF *Derrick Workman, Mercer
P Chris Anderson, Jacksonville
P Brandon Barker, Mercer
IF Greg Brody, Belmont
IF Alex Hernandez, UNF
2B/P D.J. Johnson, Mercer
IF Shane Kennedy, UNF
P Ricky Knapp, FGCU
P Tyler Moore, UNF
P Toney Mollica, Jacksonville
P Austin Perez, Stetson
IF Taylor Ratliff, Jacksonville