Chihil, Glick Win Eagle Scholar Athlete Award at Annual FGCU Athletics Banquet
Monday, April 23, 2012
Photo Credit: Dennis Snyder
Photo Credit: Dennis Snyder

FORT MYERS, Fla. – With three Atlantic Sun regular season and tournament championships, and a fourth straight CCSA title to its credit already during the 2011-12 season, the FGCU athletic department celebrated its stellar campaign Monday night during the annual Senior Send-Off and Awards Ceremony held on campus in the Cohen Center Ballroom.

Women’s basketball senior Courtney Chihil (Tipp City, Ohio/Alter HS) and men’s soccer senior Adam Glick (Leola, Pa./Conestoga Valley HS) were co-recipients of the prestigious Eagle Scholar Athlete award, the highest honor FGCU bestows upon a graduating senior student-athlete. The award recognizes the ability of the winner to combine athletic and academic success (minimum 3.20 GPA) with community service.

A four-year starter and the fifth player in program history to score 1,000 career points (1,016), Chihil finished her career as FGCU’s leader in career steals (199) and ranks at or near the top five in points (1,016; 5th), three-pointers (122; 6th), rebounds (603; 3rd) and assists (333; 4th). The two-time Capital One Academic All-District first team selection and two-time Division I-AAA Women’s Scholar-Athlete team choice is a three-time A-Sun All-Academic honoree and was named to the inaugural A-Sun Academic All-Conference team as a senior. Chihil was a member of three A-Sun regular season championship teams (2008-09, 2010-11, 2011-12) and helped the Eagles verify the conference’s third-ever unbeaten regular season (18-0) by cruising through the A-Sun Tournament, taking the league’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament with a convincing 67-39 win over second-seeded and 20-game winner Stetson.

A four-year starter at goalkeeper and two-time team captain, Glick is program’s all-time leader in saves (260), saves per game (4.00), wins (32) and shutouts (19). He also ranks seventh in games played (65), fifth in games started (65) and fourth in minutes played (5946). The Leola, Pa. native was one of 10 national finalists for Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award and All-America first team in addition to being a 2010 and 2011 A-Sun All-Conference first team selection as well as the 2010 A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year. Glick, the 2011 recipient of the Duane Swanson Sr. Inspirational Award, helped the Eagles to their first-ever NCAA Tournament berth after securing back-to-back A-Sun regular season titles with a combined 16-1 record.

Three other annual individual awards were presented to seniors during the rest of the night, including the Most Inspirational Award which was emotionally renamed the Duane Swanson Sr. Inspirational Award at the 2011 ceremony. Swanson, who passed away on March 8, was one of the pioneers of FGCU’s quick accent into the Division I ranks, Swanson’s involvement with athletics dated back to 2002 when he met with baseball coach Dave Tollett. After that, Swanson led the charge in building both the baseball and softball complexes, not only donating generously, but also getting many others to follow in his footsteps. Swanson was also consistent donor to the scholarship fund and in 2007 he once again led the charge in building the Outdoor Sports Complex which is home to 11 of 15 FGCU programs. Prior to his passing, Swanson became the first person to ever be presented with an Honorary Letter from the athletic department.
Chihil was also bestowed the Duane Swanson Sr. Inspirational award by Director of Athletics Ken Kavanagh.

Men’s cross country senior Max Jones (Key Largo, Fla./Coral Shores HS) was named the winner of the Community Service Award, which is presented annually to the student-athlete(s) who best exemplifies FGCU Athletics dedicated commitment to volunteerism on campus and in the local community.

Three student-athletes were presented the Carl McAloose Spirit Award, given to a male and female student-athlete who best exemplify Carl McAloose’s spirit and love for FGCU Athletics, as well as dedication to their team and teammates. In essence, the honorees neither ever want to conclude their Eagle careers nor do their coaches, teammates or fans want these spirited competitors and team leaders to conclude their FGCU tenures. Women’s basketball’s Kelsey Jacobson (Barnesville, Minn./Moorhead HS) and women’s swimming’s Teri Lytle (Melbourne, Fla./Melbourne Central Catholic HS) were the co-recipients on the women’s side, while men’s tennis’ Steve Binninger (St. Augustine, Fla./Saint Joseph Academy) was the male winner.

For the second straight year, the Eagle Team Spirit Award went to the women’s tennis program. The Eagle Team Spirit Award is awarded to the team that exemplifies Eagle Spirit and team support.

Nominees for the 2011-12 Most Outstanding Female and Male Athlete Awards were also unveiled at the end of the banquet.  The winners of this award will be announced at the “Welcome Back Picnic” in August, due to some sports still waiting on postseason awards.  All nominees have either earned first team All-Conference or better in their respective sport or, for a few spring sports that have not yet awarded these honors, are individuals whom are believed to be under strong considerations for such accolades.

Baseball: Ricky Knapp
Softball: Jessica Barnes, Shelby Morgan and Chelsea Zgrabik
Men’s Golf: Kyle English and Brandon Pena
Men’s Basketball: Sherwood Brown  
Women’s Basketball: Sarah Hansen
Men’s Soccer: Adam Glick, Deion Jones and Cristian Raudales
Women’s Soccer: KC Correllus, Olivia Elias, Kat Hunter, Gina Petracco and Stephanie Powers
Women’s Swimming & Diving: Emma Svennson, Maegan Butler, Danielle Beaubrun, Kristina Tannineen, Vicky Cadge and Leah Daniel
Men’s Tennis: Tianyu Bao
Women’s Volleyball: Jill Hopper
Eagle Scholar Athlete Award: Courtney Chihil (Women’s Basketball) and Adam Glick (Men’s Soccer)
Duane Swanson Sr. Inspiration Award: Courtney Chihil (Women’s Basketball)
Carl McAloose Spirit Award: Kelsey Jacobson (Women’s Basketball), Teri Lytle (Women’s Swimming & Diving) and Steve Binninger (Men’s Tennis)
Community Service Award: Max Jones (Men’s Cross Country)
Eagle Spirit Team Award: Women’s Tennis