Highest Finish in Team History for FGCU at The A-Sun Championship
Saturday, October 27, 2012 | by Matt Judd
Photo by Jim Dostie
Photo by Jim Dostie

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Behind three student-athletes finishing in the field’s top 20, the FGCU men’s cross country team placed fourth in the 10-team field at Atlantic Sun Conference Championships, Saturday morning at Buckingham Park in Buckingham, Fla.

USC Upstate finished first with a score of 49, followed by ETSU (53), Kennesaw St. (85), FGCU (110) and Mercer (126) to round out the top five teams. This was the highest finish for the Eagles in the conference championship.

FGCU was led by junior Chris Rudloff (Ormond Beach, Fla./Mainland) who finished 14th with a time of 25:28.9. Rudloff’s time is the second fastest all-time at FGCU behind classmate Argeo Cruz’s (Immokalee, Fla./Immokalee HS) time of 25:20.64, which he set at the Greater Louisville Classic this year. Rudloff was named to the Second Team All-Conference for his performance at the Championship. This is the first time a member of the FGCU team has been named to the All-Conference team. The A-Sun Championship marks the first time a runner other than Cruz, finished first for the Eagles this season. Cruz was the second FGCU competitor to finish when he came in 16th place with a time of 25:44.1.

Senior Alexander Schilling (Dresden, Germany/Sportsgymnasium Dresden/Queens University of Charlotte) and freshman Aaron Rojas (Estero, Fla./Estero HS) finished 20th and 28th, respectively with times of 25:58.1 and 26:17.7. The time by Schilling was the fastest time in program history by a senior in the 8K. Rojas’ performance earned him the program’s first-ever A-Sun All-Freshman team selection.

Junior Gilbert Chemaoi (Eldoret, Kenya/Kirobon HS/Eastern Kentucky) finished with a time of 26:22.4, good for 32nd place, followed by senior Dillon McGee (Indiatlantic, Fla./Melbourne HS) who finished 41st with a time of 26:45.0.

Freshmen Jean Deceus (Immokalee, Fla./Immokalee HS) and Cody Adkinson (Port Charlotte, Fla./Port Charlotte HS) finished with times of 27:12.1 and 27:16.6, respectively.

Senior Jonathan Lanning (Sarasota, Fla./Sarasota Military Academy) was the last FGCU competitor to finish when he came in with a time of 28:00.4.

The Eagles will now turn their attention to the NCAA Southeast Regional Championships in Tallahassee, Fla. Nov. 9.

1. USC Upstate – 49
2. ETSU – 53
3. Kennesaw St. – 85
4. FGCU – 110
5. Mercer – 126
6. NKU – 135
7. Lipscomb – 142
8. North Florida – 159
9. Stetson – 295
10. Jacksonville - 305

14. Chris Rudloff – 25:28.9
16. Argeo Cruz – 25:44.1
20. Alexander Schilling – 25:58.1
28. Aaron Rojas – 26:17.7
32. Gilbert Chemaoi - 26:22.4
41. Dillon McGee - 26:45.0
47. Jean Deceus – 27:12.1
49. Cody Adkinson – 27:16.6
63. Jonathan Lanning – 28:00.4

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team
Gilbert Kemboi, USC Upstate – Runner of the Year
Nabil Hamid, Kennesaw State
Filip Jalovy, ETSU
Jon Milhorn, ETSU
Natan Reuter, Kennesaw State
JJ Webber, Northern Kentucky
Ryan Burruss, Kennesaw State

Atlantic Sun All-Conference Second Team
Davey Dennison, USC Upstate
Cameron Thomas, USC Upstate
Brendan Chwalek, Northern Kentucky
Jacob Law, Mercer
Ross Oden, USC Upstate
Adam Chase, ETSU
Chris Rudloff, FGCU

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team
Jared Wingerter, Lipscomb – Freshman of the Year
Daniel Gardner, Lipscomb
Brian Sharp, North Florida
Aaron Rojas, FGCU
Fidel Leon, Lipscomb