FGCU Leads A-Sun All-Sports Rankings After Fall Seasons
Monday, December 10, 2012

MACON, Ga. – Florida Gulf Coast University claimed regular season championships in men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball and leads the 2012-13 Atlantic Sun Conference All-Sports race following completion of the 2012 fall seasons.

The Eagles lead the overall race with a total of 120 points out of a possible 147 (.816), receiving 21 points in men’s cross country, 27 points in men’s soccer, 12 in women’s cross country, and 30 each for their titles in women’s soccer and volleyball. In the men’s race FGCU and ETSU are tied with 48 of the possible 72 points (.842), while the Eagles lead the women’s race with 72 out of the possible 90 (.800) points.

ETSU is second overall (106.5, .725), followed by Mercer (97.5, .663), Kennesaw State (75, .625), and Lipscomb (85.5, .582) in the top five. Northern Kentucky (78, .531), North Florida (73.5, .500), Jacksonville (67.5, .459), USC Upstate (64.5, .439) and Stetson (27, .184) round out spots six through 10.

FGCU ranked fourth overall in the 2011-12 All-Sports race, finishing sixth in the men’s race with 105 points and third in the women’s race with 151.5. ETSU has won the Bill Bibb Trophy as the A-Sun All-Sports Champion in each of the award’s six years of existence.

Points for the A-Sun All-Sports title are awarded on a descending basis in three-point increments. A minimum of five full-fledged members must participate in a sport for that sport to be counted in the all-sports standings. The total number of points available for each sport is established according to the number of teams participating in each sport.

In team sports, points are awarded based on regular season finish. In individual sports (cross country, golf, track & field) points are awarded based on the A-Sun Championship standings. Ties split points, and the final All-Sports standings are based on percentage. Each institution's percentage score is determined by the aggregate calculation of each institution's points earned divided by the maximum points available to that institution.

The A-Sun Men’s All-Sports Champion claims the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy following the completion of the conference’s spring sports. Kennesaw State currently sits in third (24/30, .800), followed by Men’s Cross Country champ USC Upstate (43.5/57, .763), Mercer (42/57, .737, Northern Kentucky (33/57, .579) and Lipscomb (25.5/57, .447). North Florida, Stetson and Jacksonville round out the list in a tie for eighth (12/57, .211).

The Sherman Day Trophy awaits the Women’s All-Sports Champion. The Eagles’ women’s soccer and volleyball titles helped them to the top spot, followed by North Florida (61.5/90, .683). Lipscomb claimed the Women’s Cross Country title to secure No. 3 (60/90, .667), followed closely by ETSU (58.5/90, .650) and a tie for fifth between Jacksonville and Mercer (55.5/90, .617). Kennesaw State (51/90, .567), Northern Kentucky (45/90, .500), USC Upstate (21.90, .233) and Stetson (15/90, .167) complete the women’s rankings.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.