Woo Receives 2013 Jean Freeman Scholarship
Monday, March 18, 2013 | by Matt Judd
Jim Dostie photo
Jim Dostie photo

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The College Swimming Coaches Association of America CCSA has named FGCU swimming and diving assistant coach April Woo a recipient for the 2013 Jean Freeman Scholarship award, announced by the outlet Monday.

Woo helped the FGCU women’s swimming and diving team to a 9-2 record this year and claimed their fifth-straight Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) championship. The Green and Blue were undefeated in conference play during the regular season for the fourth-straight year.

The Jean Freeman Scholarship is given annually to a male and a female assistant coach in each NCAA division whose exceptional contributions have brought recognition to their college or university, and whose leadership, integrity, honesty, competitive attitude and personal graciousness epitomizes those characteristics reflected by Jean Freeman. The scholarship will provide each of the six selected assistant coaches with the convention fee, transportation and lodging to the annual CSCAA Convention and Clinic.  Recipients were selected by a committee comprised of members of The Summit, The Summit for Empowering Women in Swimming, of which Jean was a founding member. The members of the selection committee are Carol Capitani, University of Texas; Marian Clark, University of Pittsburgh; Anne Goodman James, Colorado College; Mo-Jo Isaac, Skyline High School (MI); and Susan Teeter, Princeton University.

Jean Freeman was a pioneer in collegiate women’s athletics who served as a mentor and leader to numerous women and men who have gone on to become head swimming coaches in the collegiate ranks. Jean Freeman swam for the Minnesota Gophers from 1968‐72 and then went on to serve as an assistant coach with the team for one season before being named as the program’s head coach in 1973.

Fans can get updates and information on FGCU swimming and diving by visiting www.FGCUATHLETICS.com or by following the team on twitter @FGCU_WSwim.

Division I Men: Christopher Maiello, United States Naval Academy
Division I Women: April Woo, Florida Gulf Coast University
Division II Men: Benjamin Hewitt, Nova Southeastern University
Division II Women: Kathryn McNerney, Millersville University
Division III Men—Andrew Beggs, Swarthmore College
Division III Women—Maya Hamilton, St. Olaf College