@FGCU_WGOLF Holds Second Place After First Round at Ocala Invitational
Sunday, March 23, 2014 | by Jamie Church (@jlchurch)

OCALA, Fla. – With the best team score of any Division I team, the FGCU women’s golf team holds second place after one round at the Morehead State Ocala Invitational.  The Eagles carded a total team score of 298 to sit just three strokes behind tournament leader Daytona State College.

The Eagles rank second in the field of 16 teams that includes host Morehead State and Atlantic Sun foes Stetson and North Florida.

All four of the team’s contributors scored within the top-15 individually, with Chelsea Guoynes (Traverse City, Mich./Traverse City Central High School) leading the way.

Guoynes ranks fifth in the field of 92 golfers with a first-round score of 73. 

Briana Carlson (Inverness, Fla./Citrus High School), , Georgia Price (Bude, England/Fort Myers High School) and Mei Khuan Yong (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia/S.M.K. Cochrane) all carded first-round scores of 75 to rank 15th in the field and help FGCU to the strong first-round showing. 

Sophomore Sara Detlefsen (Eagan, Minn./Minnesota Virtual Academy) rounded out the team lineup with an 82 to place 75th in the field. 

Individually, Megan VanEtten (Trinity, Fla./J.W. Mitchell High School) and Rebecca VanEtten (Trinity, Fla./J.W. Mitchell High School) recorded scores of 77 and 79, respectively to place 38th and 51st in the field.  The duo ranks among the top four of individual competitors. 

The three-day invitational, hosted by Morehead State will resume on Monday morning at the Juliette Falls Golf Club in Dunnellon, Fla.    The team will tee-off at 9:30 a.m. and will play with tournament leader Daytona State and Atlantic Sun foe UNF.

5. Chelsea Guoynes 73
T15. Briana Carlson 75
T15. Georgia Price 75
T15. Mei Khuan Yong 75
T38. Megan VanEtten 77
T51. Rebecca VanEtten 79
T75. Sara Detlefsen 82

1.Daytona State 295
2. FGCU 298
T3. North Florida 299
T3. Houston Baptist 299
5. Eastern Kentucky 301
6. Toledo 303
T7. Stetson 305
T7. Murray State 305
T9. McNeese State 306
T9. Ohio 306
11. Akron 308
12. Morehead State 310
13. Western Kentucky 313
14. Northern Illinois 314
15. Austin Peay State 318
16. Nebraska – Omaha 342