FGCU Honors Athletes at 2007-08 Banquet
Monday, April 21, 2008

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Ten of the top student-athletes at Florida Gulf Coast University have been honored with the announcement of the athletic department’s annual awards for 2007-08.

FGCU recognizes the top performances each year with the Outstanding Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards. The top scholar-athletes in each gender receive the Scholar-Athlete Awards. The President’s Award is presented to the senior student-athlete with the highest grade point average among FGCU student-athletes. One student-athlete in each gender were honored with the Sportsmanship Award as the athlete that best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship, fair play and teamwork, while representing FGCU in a positive manner. The student-athletes who best signify the spirit, participation and support of all FGCU athletic programs will be selected for the Spirit Award.

Maria Maggiorini (Buenos Aires, Argentina) received the President’s Award with a 3.88 highest grade point average (GPA). Her women’s tennis team also was honored as the team with a 3.44 overall GPA.

Carmen Paez (Belle Glade, Fla.) received the FGCU Outstanding Female Athlete of the year. The senior is one of the most decorated athletes to play at FGCU. Last year, she was named Division II National Player of the Year and is a finalist for the Division I USA Softball player of the year. She leads the nation in homeruns with 22 and is among the national leaders nearly every offensive category.

Senior Jason Peacock (Bartow, Fla.) received the honor on the men’s side. The first baseman leads the Atlantic Sun in batting average and is one of the most feared hitters in the Atlantic Sun. He has helped lead the team to a 29-12 record in its first as a Division I program.

Rob Quaintance (Glendale, Az.) and Chelsea Dermyer (Fort Collins, Col.) received the Scholar Athlete awards this year. Both are senior point guards who led the Atlantic Sun in assists this season. Quaintance became one of the top defenders in the conference as well and is 2nd all-time in assists at FGCU. Dermyer was a second team all-conference selection after leading the team to a win in the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) over USF. The Eagles became the only current member of the Atlantic Sun to win a postseason game with the win over USF.

Ashley Haegele (Imperial, Mo.) and J.J. Crumbley (Tampa, Fla.) were honored as the Spirit Award winners. Haegele played a key role in the team’s run to the WNIT. She started 20 games this season and averaged 9.5 per contest. Crumbley is also a prominent member of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee and was a two-year member of Student Government. Crumbley leads the team with six wins this year and has a 1.63 ERA in his 18 appearances.

Brooke Youngquist (Fort Myers, Fla.) and Graig Smith (Venice, Fla.) received the Sportsmanship Award. Youngquist was a second team all-conference performer for the Atlantic Sun Champion volleyball team. She helped guide the team to a 23-3 record and 10-1 A-Sun mark in their first season in Division I. Smith has proven to be one of the toughest catchers to run on in the Atlantic Sun. He leads the conference in runners caught stealing at 12.