Swimming and Diving Ranked No. 10 in Mid-Major Poll
Friday, January 04, 2013 | by Matt Judd
Photo by Jim Dostie
Photo by Jim Dostie

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The FGCU women’s swimming and diving team earned the No. 10 spot in the second Mid-Major Division I Swimming poll conducted by CollegeSwimming.com.

FGCU is 2-2 this season with wins over ACC foes Miami and Georgia Tech as well as a second-place finish in the Georgia Tech Invitational. The Green and Blue were ranked eighth in the first mid-major Division I ranking by CollegeSwimming.com

The Eagles are the only team in the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) ranked in the top 25.

Now in its 11th year, the Mid-Major Rankings serve to provide an objective point system to compare teams’ relative strength in a traditional dual meet lineup. The ranking is available to those institutions that a) are not members of a BCS conference or Mountain West Conference, or b) provide fewer than one-half of the allowable scholarships under the NCAA rules.

FGCU has earned three CCSA Swimmer of the Week and three Diver of the Week honors in just 11 weeks. Senior Maegan Butler (Orangeburg, N.Y./Tappan Zee/FAU) has garnered Diver of the Week two times this season, while sophomore Cayla Collins (Largo, Fla./Osceola) received the award in the first week of voting.  Freshmen Jennifer Morgan (Edmonton, Alberta/Harry Ainlay) and Julie Leth-Espensen (Vanloese, Copenhagen, Denmark/Falkonergaardens Gymnasium) and senior Eva Lehtonen (Rochester Hills, Mich./Rochester Adams HS/Florida) have both received Swimmer of the Week accolades in the early going.

The Eagles will be back in action Jan. 5 when they host a quad meet against Georgia Southern, Liberty and North Dakota at the FGCU Aquatics Center. The meet will begin at 11 a.m.

Mid-Major Poll
1. Harvard
2. Miami-OH
3. Princeton
4. North Texas
5. Eastern Michigan
6. San Jose State
7. Yale
8. UC-Davis
9. Hawaii
10. FGCU
11. Columbia
12. UC-Santa Barbara
13. Navy
14. Toledo
15. FIU
16. Ohio
17. Western Kentucky
18. Brown
19. Towson
20. UW-Milwaukee
21. Denver
22. UMass
23. Oakland
24. Cal Poly
25. Dartmouth