Comer Named Candidate For Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 | by Jason MacBain (@JaBain)
Brett Comer has been named to the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. (Photo Courtesy: Mitchell Left)
Brett Comer has been named to the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. (Photo Courtesy: Mitchell Left)

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – FGCU junior Brett Comer has been named to the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame officials Tuesday.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guard in men’s college basketball. The list was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country.

“The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be a part of this award.”

The honor for Comer (Winter Park, Fla./Winter Park HS) continues an already well-decorated preseason for the 6-3 guard as he was named a unanimous selection to the Preseason All Atlantic Sun Conference Team and College Sports Madness A-Sun Preseason First Team.

Comer led the A-Sun and ranked 14th in the nation for assists (6.6 per game) last year. The central Florida native was named the A-Sun Tournament MVP following a 21-point performance in the championship game against Mercer. His 244 assists were the second-most for a single season in conference history, and he boasted an average of 10.3 assists in three NCAA Tournament games.

The Winter Park High School product produced back-to-back double-doubles versus second-seeded Georgetown (12 points, 10 assists) and seventh-seeded San Diego State (10 points, career-best 14 assists) in the NCAA Tournament. Comer, who averaged 8 points and 3.2 rebounds per outing last year, also led the conference in assists as a freshman, making him just the fourth player in A-Sun history to lead the league in assists two straight years.

“The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court.”

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to 20 in early February, then the final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (Saint Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan).

2014 Bob Cousy Award Watch List
Player Name: School Name
Trevor Releford: Alabama
TJ McConnell: Arizona
Jahii Carson: Arizona State
Derrick Marks: Boise State
Walt Lemon, Jr.: Bradley
Justin Cobbs: California
Kyle Anderson: UCLA
Billy Baron: Canisius
Spencer Dinwiddie: Colorado
Shabazz Napier: Connecticut
Quinn Cook: Duke
Brett Comer: FGCU
Kasey Hill: Florida
Devon Bookert: Florida State
Markel Starks: Georgetown
Kevin Pangos: Gonzaga
Keifer Sykes: Green Bay
Siyani Chambers: Harvard
Brandyn Curry: Harvard
Yogi Ferrell: Indiana
Jake Odum: Indiana State
DeAndre Kane: Iowa State
Andrew Harrison: Kentucky
Elfrid Payton: Lafayette
Jason Brickman: LIU - Brooklyn
Anthony Ireland: Loyola Marymount
Chris Jones: Louisville
Chaz Williams: Massachusetts
Michael Dixon: Memphis
Joe Jackson: Memphis
Keith Appling: Michigan State
Jordan Clarkson: Missouri
Kendall Williams: New Mexico
Marcus Paige: North Carolina
Eric Atkins: Notre Dame
Aaron Craft: Ohio State
Marcus Smart: Oklahoma State
Dominic Artis: Oregon
Tim Frazier: Penn State
Kris Dunn: Providence
Tyler Ennis: Syracuse
Preston Medlin: Utah State
Ryan Arcidiacono: Villanova
Nigel Williams-Goss: Washington
Semaj Christon: Xavier
Kendrick Perry: Youngstown State

For up-to-the-minute information and behind-the-scenes access to the men’s basketball program, follow @FGCU_MBB on Twitter and Instagram, and “Like” us on Facebook at /FGCUMBB.

2013-14 men’s basketball season tickets are selling quickly, and only a limited amount remain. New this year are mini-plan packages for all games, with the exception of “Breakfast at the Beach,” and individual-game tickets are now on sale. Fans can reserve their seat(s) by visiting the Alico Arena Ticket Office, calling 239-590-7145 or logging on to