FGCU Lands 5 on NCAA Division II All-Independent Softball Team
Friday, June 03, 2005
NCAA DIVISION II ALL-INDEPENDENT SOFTBALL Seaside, Calif. – Florida Gulf Coast led the way with five selections to the NCAA Division II All-Independent Softball team. Kelly Powe (Sr./Naples, Fla.) of Florida Gulf Coast, Jen Kleier (Sr./Orlando, Fla.) of Palm Beach Atlantic and Ashley Cecil (Sr./Naples, Fla.) of Florida Gulf Coast were unanimous selections. Representatives of Florida Gulf Coast, Tiffin, Palm Beach Atlantic, Rockhurst, Columbia Union, Grand Canyon and California State University Monterey Bay selected the team. Florida Gulf Coast nearly swept the individual awards with three wins out of four. Powe ran away with Pitcher of the Year for the second straight year. She was 28-6 with 26 complete games, threw 14 shutouts, struck out 206 batters with just 25 walks in 234 and one-third innings for a 1.08 ERA. Cecil was selected as Player of the Year as she had seven doubles, two triples, scored 57 runs, drove in 11 runs with 73 hits and hit .408. Cecil, who was selected to the NCAA All-American third-team, led Division II with 66 stolen bases. Coach of the Year for the second straight season was Dave Deiros of Florida Gulf Coast. The Eagles were 38-18, had two All-Region players, an All-American and played ten teams that qualified for Regionals with wins against all but one. Tiffin broke up the FGCU run as Lauren Williams (Fr./Jupiter, Fla.) was named Freshman of the Year. An infielder, she had nine doubles, five home runs, scored 28 runs, drove in 42 runs and hit .323. 2005 NCAA DIVISION II ALL-INDEPENDENT SOFTBALL Name Pos. Yr. Hometown Kim Boardman – Palm Beach Atlantic P Sr. Lehigh Acres, Florida Kelly Powe – Florida Gulf Coast@ P Sr. Naples, Florida Rachel Richardson – Tiffin@ P Sr. Fairfield, Ohio Jen Kleier – Palm Beach Atlantic C Sr. Orlando, Florida Kate Fishburn – Florida Gulf Coast INF So. Fort Myers, Florida Casey Gibson – Palm Beach Atlantic INF Fr. Cape Coral, Florida Denita Robinson – Tiffin@ INF Sr. Cambridge, Ohio Kristina Schweikert – Tiffin@ INF Sr. Rochester, New York Ashley Cecil – Florida Gulf Coast@ OF Sr. Naples, Florida Steph Orr – Tiffin@ OF So. Columbus, Ohio Blaire Toleman – Florida Gulf Coast OF Sr. Lehigh Acres, Florida Melissa Cundiff – Palm Beach Atlantic AL Sr. Pompano Beach, Fla. Lindsay Kelso – Grand Canyon AL Fr. Phoenix, Arizona Natasha Meyer – Florida Gulf Coast AL Jr. Coral Springs, Florida Curry Brown – Rockhurst AL Jr. Salinas, Kansas Sarah Sooter – Rockhurst AL Jr. Topeka, Kansas @ - 2004 NCAA Division I-II All-Independent AL – At Large (courtesy Mike Bond)