Eagles Earn ALL-ICAA SOFTBALL Honors
Monday, May 22, 2006
The Division II Independent Collegiate Athletic Association announced today the All-ICAA Softball Division II teams and Florida Golf Coast University had several players and Head Coach Dave Deiros receiving honors. The Division II Independents are Florida Gulf Coast, Palm Beach Atlantic, Tiffin, Upper Iowa, Grand Canyon, Columbia Union, North Greenville and Mary. Junior left fielder Jessica Rouse (Jacksonville, Fla.) of Florida Gulf Coast was named the Player of the Year. No. 15 in the nation in homeruns per game she set a school record for the most in a season with 18. She had 16 doubles, four triples and scored 66 RBI’s on the season. Rouse was also No. 27 in the nation in runs batted in per game with 1.12. The Pitcher of the Year award went to sophomore Rachael Edinger (Lakeland, Fla.) of Florida Gulf Coast University. She went 26-6 with 12 shutouts and 26 complete games in 35 appearances. She was ranked No. 7 in the nation with an ERA of 0.79 and No. 16 in strikeouts per seven innings with 8.9. Edinger struck out 269 batters in 212 innings and was No. 19 in the nation in victories with 26. Coach of the Year went to Dave Deiros of Florida Gulf Coast. The Eagles finished 58-9 and qualified for the NCAA Division II South Regional. He is 170-59 in four seasons and this is the third straight year he has been named coach of the year. Several other players received All-ICAA honors. Junior catcher Roz Tyre (Lake City, Fla.), freshman third baseman Cheyenne Jenks (Naples, Fla.) made the first team while junior Sarah Backe (Flossmoor, Ill.), freshman pitcher Melissa Geissler (Fort Myers, Fla.), senior short stop Christine Beck (Hudson, Fla.) and junior center fielder Rachel Homan (Vero Beach, Fla.) were on the second team. The Eagles finished the 2005-06 campaign with the most wins of the four year program with a 58-9 overall record. The All-Academic team will be released on Tuesday. ALL-ICAA DIVISION II SOFTBALL Player of the Year: Jessica Rouse – Florida Gulf Coast Freshman of the Year: Randi Johns – Grand Canyon Pitcher of the Year: Rachael Edinger – Florida Gulf Coast Coach of the Year: Dave Deiros – Florida Gulf Coast FIRST TEAM Pos. Yr. Hometown Rachael Edinger – Florida Gulf Coast P So. Lakeland, Florida April Nietrzeba – Tiffin P Jr. Maumee, Ohio Krista Sowers – Tiffin P Fr. Eagle River, Alaska Nicole Seymour – Grand Canyon C Jr. Long Beach, California Roz Tyre – Florida Gulf Coast C Jr. Lake City, Florida Cyla Hawkins – Tiffin INF Fr. Cuyahoga, Ohio Cheyenne Jenks - Florida Gulf Coast INF Fr. Naples, Florida Randi Johns – Grand Canyon INF Fr. Waddell, Arizona Lauren Williams – Tiffin INF So. Jupiter, Florida Katie Kilburg – Upper Iowa OF So. Bellevue, Iowa Stephanie Orr – Tiffin@# OF Jr. Columbus, Ohio Jessica Rouse - Florida Gulf Coast OF Jr. Jacksonville, Florida Kristina Schweikert – Tiffin@# OF Sr. Rochester, New York Tracy Lehman – Tiffin UTL Jr. Whitehouse, Ohio @ - 2004 Div I-II All-Independent # - 2005 Div. II All-Independent SECOND TEAM Pos. Yr. Hometown Sarah Backe – Florida Gulf Coast P Jr. Flossmoor, Illinois Melissa Geissler – Florida Gulf Coast P Fr. Fort Meyers, Florida Jaime Naglosky – Univ. of Mary P Sr. St. Paul, Minnesota Christine Beck - Florida Gulf Coast INF Sr. Hudson, Florida Melissa Bowie – Tiffin INF Jr. Oregon, Ohio Nikki Staten – Palm Beach Atlantic INF Jr. Van Wert, Ohio Meghan Ward – Univ. of Mary INF So. Escondido, California Rachel Homan - Florida Gulf Coast OF Jr. Vero Beach, Florida Alicia Preston – Tiffin OF Sr. Dorset, Ohio Kristi Wist – Univ. of Mary OF Jr. Saskatoon, Sakatchewan, Canada Sara Naglosky – Univ. of Mary UTL S0. St. Paul, Minnesota