FGCU Swimming and Diving Prepare for first Quad Meet
Thursday, October 25, 2007
Freshman diver Gabrielle Shaw
Freshman diver Gabrielle Shaw

Fort Myers, Fla. - The FGCU women’s swimming and diving team set to host their first quad meet of the inaugural season. FGCU will host Georgia Tech, University of Tampa, and Florida Atlantic this weekend at the FGCU/Lee County Aquatics Center. FGCU will also host the men’s swimming and diving teams from the University of Tampa, and Florida Atlantic. The meet will begin at 10:00 am on Saturday morning, admission is free to everyone.

In their first meet, the FGCU women’s swimming and diving team was defeated by the University of Miami by a total score of 156-84.

Freshman Viktoria Hyddmark led the Eagles as she placed first in the 200-yard backstroke. This marked the first ever first place finish for the Eagles in their inaugural season.

On the diving boards for the Eagles, freshman Sarah McCollough led the Eagles with a second place finish in the 1-meter board. McCollough finished with 199.72 points.

Georgia Tech: Despite a sweep of the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events by Hannah Krimm and three other individual victories, the women fell to all three teams in the quad meet on Oct. 13th. Clemson claimed a sweep on the women's side, defeating Tech, 185.00-113.00. The Crimson Tide's margin was 183.00-115.00.

Tampa: In their first meet of the 2007-08 season on Oct.13th, the University of Tampa men’s and women’s swimming team each triumphed in their respective season openers, defeating Florida Southern. The Spartan women won 179-93 as the men were victorious 195-113.

FAU: The Florida Atlantic University women's swimming and diving team took a positive first step in defending their 2006-07 Sun Belt crown, taking 9 of 13 events in their season-opening meet at Florida International University on Saturday. 

The Eagles are a member of the Costal Collegiate Swimming Association. The CCSA has 12 total members – 12 women’s swimming and diving teams and six men’s swimming and diving programs. The charter members of the CCSA in women’s swimming are Campbell (A-Sun), College of Charleston (SoCon), Davidson (SoCon), Florida A&M (MEAC), Florida Gulf Coast (A-Sun), Gardner-Webb (A-Sun), Georgia Southern (SoCon), Howard (MEAC), North Carolina A&T (MEAC), North Florida (A-Sun), Radford (Big South) and VMI (Big South). The six schools that comprise the CCSA men’s swimming members are College of Charleston, Davidson, Florida A&M, Gardner-Webb, Howard and VMI. The CCSA will host its inaugural Conference Championship on Feb. 21-23, 2008.


From the north (via I-75)

Take I-75 South to Exit 128, Alico Rd. Go east (left) on Alico Rd. for half a mile. Go south (right) on Ben Hill Griffin Pkwy for two miles. Turn left at the stoplight at the main FGCU entrance. After entering campus, stop at the information booth for a visitor's parking pass and directions to the proper building.

From the south (via I-75)

Take I-75 North to Exit 123, Corkscrew Road . Go east (right) on Corkscrew Road for half a mile. Turn north (left) on Ben Hill Griffin Pkwy ; go three miles to FGCU entrance. Turn right at the stoplight. After entering campus, stop at the information booth for a visitor's parking pass and directions to the proper building.