Eagles Overwhelm FIU in Regular Season Finale
Saturday, January 23, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The FGCU swimming & diving team ended the 2009-10 regular season with another convincing win, defeating Florida International 194-94 Saturday at the FGCU Aquatics Center. The Eagles have now won nine consecutive dual meets, each by at least 65 points.

FGCU’s “B” team captured first place in the day’s first event, the 200 medley relay, finishing in 1:49.93, just ahead of FGCU’s “D” team (1:54.52). The Eagles also swam well in the only other relay event of the day, the 200 free relay, in which FGCU’s “A” team took first in 1:39.03, followed by FGCU’s “B” team (1:39.24).

The Eagles dominated the freestyle events, winning all five races, including sweeps of the top three positions in the 50 free, 200 free, and 1000 free. Margie Chamberlin (Land ‘O Lakes, Fla.) won the 50 free in 25.32, followed closed by Isabela Mills (Rio de Janeiro, Brazel) and Shannon Blizzard (Jacksonville, Fla.). FGCU’s Vicky Cadge (Long Melford, Suffolk, United Kingdom) won the 200 free, edging out Teri Lytle (Melbourne, Fla.) and Leah Daniel (Winnipeg, Manitoba).

Viktoria Hyddmark (Lund, Sweden) captured both backstroke events, winning the 100 back in 59.36 and the 200 back in 2:04.63. FGCU also captured victories in both breaststroke events, with Myriam Plante (Sainte-Foy, Quebec) winning the 100 breast in 1:07.08 and Regina Rodriguez (Mexico City, Mexico) taking the 200 breast in 2:26.32. The Eagles swept the butterfly events, with Alessandra Cianci (Plantation, Fla.) placing first in the 200 fly in 2:07.77 and Cadge winning the 100 fly in 57.74.

In the diving competitions, Karmin McNamara (Tampa, Fla.) won the 3-meter diving with a score of 281.18 and placed second in the 1-meter diving with 253.28 points. FIU’s Namiko Shibata won the 1-meter competition with a score of 264.75.

The Eagles will have almost a month to prepare for their final competition of the season, the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association Championships, where they will look to repeat as conference champions. The Blue and Green will travel to Knoxville, Tenn. for the meet, which will be held at the Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Tennessee. The championships begin on Thursday, February 18, and wrap up on Saturday, February 20.