FGCU's Divers Complete NCAA Diving Zone B Event
Thursday, March 08, 2012 | by Justin Glover (@Jglove3)

AUBURN, Ala. – Competing in its first season of NCAA postseason eligibility, Three of FGCU’s diving team completed in the 1-meter and 3-meter events at the NCAA Diving Zone B on March 5-7 in Auburn, Ala. at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center.

Junior Maegan Butler (Orangburg, N.Y./Tappan Zee HS/FAU), sophomore Alex Valder (Tampa, Fla./Sickles HS) and freshman Cayla Collins (Largo, Fla./Osceola HS) finished their seasons in participating in the event.

“I am so proud of how we competed at the Diving Zone and it was a great way to conclude the season,” said Diving coach Andrew Goe. “They dove well and it gave FGCU a chance to be represented with a very competitive field. With all the girls being able to return next season, it gives the Diving team great potential for more good things to come.”

Collins finished 38th out of 41 competitors in the 3-meter dive with a score of 207.65, followed by Butler in 39th at 199.15. Valder finished 41st with a score of 185.55. In the 1-meter event, Butler finished 39th out of 42 competitors with a score of 210.70, followed by Collins in 40th at 208.15. Valder finished 41st with a score of 207.20.

FGCU was in the toughest Diving Zone being in a region with ACC teams Miami, Florida State, Clemson, Duke, NC State, North Carolina. Also five SEC teams in Alabama, Tennessee, Auburn, South Carolina and Georgia.

The Eagles finished the regular season with an 11-2 dual meet record (4-0 in CCSA) and were ranked 8th in the previous CollegeSwimming.com/CSCAA Mid-Major Division I poll. FGCU completed their fourth consecutive undefeated CCSA season, finishing with a 5-0 record this year. The Green and Blue are a remarkable 23-1 in CCSA competition.

For more information about the FGCU women’s swimming and diving team visit www.FGCUAthletics.com and follow @FGCUSwimandDive on Twitter for more updates.

Ten divers qualified for the NCAA Championship meet starting on March 15-17 at Auburn, Ala.

WOMEN NCAA Championships (10 qualifying spots)
Tori Lamp, Tennessee
Vennie Dantin, Auburn
Courtney Forcucci, South Carolina
Anna Aguero, Auburn
Thea Vock, Miami
Kara McCormack, Miami
Katrina Young, Florida State
Ariel Rittenhouse, Florida State
Jodie McGroarty, Tennessee
Hannah Hopkins, NC State