Three Volleyball Players Earn AVCA All-Region Honors
Monday, November 28, 2005
FORT MYERS, Fla. – Three Florida Gulf Coast University volleyball players were named to the Division II All-South Region team as selected by the American Volleyball Coaches Association. Senior Devon Watts, junior Ericka Fonseca, and sophomore Whitney Hendry were each named to the 12-member team. They will be eligible for the AVCA Division II All-America teams. Hendry (Fort Myers/Bishop Verot) was selected as a libero/defensive specialist while Fonseca (Belo Horizonte, Brazil) was named as a middle blocker and Watts (Somerville, Texas) as a right-side hitter. Hendry ranked among the NCAA Division II leaders in digs per game at 6.00. Six times she topped the 30-dig mark in a match, including a school-record 48 against Wingate University. Fonseca led the team in attack percentage (.362), kills per game (3.86), and blocks per game (1.21). She knocked down a school-record 405 total kills in 105 games this fall. Watts was in the team’s top-five in five statistical categories, including finishing second on the team in blocks (66) and kills (337). In addition, all three players were selected to the 2005 NCAA Division II South Region all-tournament team. The Eagles finished with a 27-3 record and advanced to the NCAA South Region championship final this fall. FGCU has recorded a 51-10 mark overall with two NCAA tournament appearances since the program’s inception in 2004. AVCA All-South Region Samara de Freitas Katelen Dixon Erika Fonseca Whitney Hendry Rachelle Konczal Jordan McAfee Stephanie Rivera Michele Rosamiglia Margeaux Sinibaldi Beverly Stasis Devon Watts Ericka Womack Barry University University of Tampa Florida Gulf Coast University Florida Gulf Coast University Florida Southern College Florida Southern College University of Tampa Barry University University of Tampa Florida Southern College Florida Gulf Coast University University of Tampa MB OH So. MB DS/Lib S RS/Opp RS/Opp S DS/Lib OH RS/Opp MB So. Jr. So. Sr. Jr. Jr. Sr. So. So. Sr. Sr. Sr. Region Freshman of the Year: Danielle Durham, Florida Southern, OH Honorable Mention: Jasmin Brown (Presbyterian, MB, Sr.), Kelly Dantas (Barry, MB, Sr.), Erin Friday (Presbyterian, OH, Sr.) Traci Knuth (Armstrong Atlantic St., MB, Jr.), Kayla Mora (Tampa, OH, Sr.), Jessica Strader (Francis Marion, DS/Lib, Jr.)