Youngquist and Dominguez Earn A-Sun Postseason Honors
Tuesday, November 16, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – After winning back-to-back matches to wrap up the 2010 regular season, the FGCU volleyball team collected a little post-season hardware. Junior Holly Youngquist (Estero, Fla./Evangelical Christian) earned Atlantic Sun All-Conference second team honors, while freshman Camil Dominguez (Santo Domingo, D.R./Santa Teresita) earned an Atlantic Sun All-Freshman Team selection.

Youngquist joins five other players who have earned first or second team nods in the program’s four-year stint at the Division I level. Dominguez and Youngquist (2008) are the only Eagles who have received A-Sun All-Freshman Team honors.

Youngquist, who was named to the ESPN Academic All-District 3 second team, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) earlier this month, added to her solid junior campaign by picking up her second career A-Sun postseason honor. Youngquist finished the season with a team-high 389 digs and ranked fourth in the conference with 4.18 digs per set. The Estero, Fla. native also spent some time as an outside hitter for the first time in her collegiate career and managed to record a pair of double doubles during the 2010 campaign.

Dominguez, the Eagles rookie setter, picked up the program’s second All-Freshman team nod. The Santo Domingo, D.R. native racked up 887 assists and recorded a team-high nine double doubles on the year. Her 887 assists rank her fourth in FGCU’s record book for assists in a single season.

Lipscomb’s Jake Pease picked up Player of the Year honors, while ETSU’s Megan Devine took the Freshman of the Year award. Kennesaw State’s Karen Weatherington grabbed the Coach of the Year honor after guiding the Owls to a 9-1 conference mark and the second seed in the A-Sun Championship later this week. During the season, she guided the Owls to a program-best eight game win streak during the regular season and has already matched last year’s win count, 17, entering the A-Sun Championship.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Player of the Year
Jake Pease, Lipscomb

Libero of the Year
Charlotte Harris, Mercer

Coach of the Year
Karen Weatherington, Kennesaw State

Freshman of the Year
Megan Devine, ETSU

First Team
Alex Kelly, Lipscomb*
Jake Pease, Lipscomb*
Sabrita Gulley, Kennesaw State
Alysa Long, ETSU
Kayla Albritton, Belmont
Aidan Yeager, Jacksonville
Charlotte Harris, Mercer

Second Team
Meghan Hinemeyer, Lipscomb
Whitney Cogburn, ETSU
Tara Blood, Belmont
Alyssa Lang, Kennesaw State
Maggie Johnson, Belmont
Paige Pridgeon, UNF
Holly Youngquist, FGCU

All-Freshman Team
Hannah Miranda, Belmont*
Sara Metroka, Kennesaw State*
Megan Devine, ETSU
Alyssa Robertson, Jacksonville
Allison McCoy, Belmont
Camil Dominguez, FGCU
Camille Pedraza, Kennesaw State
* Unanimous Choice