De La Torre and Dermyer Earn Second Team All-Confernece Honors
Tuesday, March 04, 2008

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – With the Atlantic Sun Conference readying for its 23rd annual Women’s Basketball Championship in Nashville this week, the league office released its 2007-08 All-Conference selections Tuesday morning. Kennesaw State’s Britteny Henderson claimed Player of the Year honors and Gardner-Webb’s Monique Hudson joined her male counterpart Nate Blank as Freshman of the Year.

"I'm happy that a couple of our players received All-Conference recognition," said Head Coach Karl Smesko. "I believe the Delia and Chelsea are two of the best players in the conference."

Henderson, a junior out of Atlanta, Ga., finished the season second in the conference in scoring and third in rebounding, and posted double-doubles in five of her final seven outings. The psychology major notched perhaps the single top performance of the season versus Gardner-Webb on Feb. 9, pouring in 21 points and pulling down 22 rebounds for the league’s only 20-20 stat line of the season.

Hudson, the league’s only freshman with a double figures scoring average, posted 10.7 points per game for the season, and helped hand regular season champion ETSU one of its two league losses with a 20- point performance on Jan. 12.

Jacksonville and ETSU split the remaining four First-Team spots as JU’s Virginia Gregoire and ETSU’s Siarre Evans made their second straight appearance, JU’s Ashley Williams received her third consecutive honor and ETSU’s Michele DeVault achieved her first career selection. Evans, the 2007 Atlantic Sun Freshman of the Year, led the Lady Bucs to their first-ever A-Sun regular-season conference title, and averaged a team-best 13.6 points and 7.1 rebounds per contest. DeVault led the league in three-point and free throw shooting at .421 and .861, respectively. The Dolphins tandem of Gregoire and Williams guided JU to its second consecutive second seed in the A-Sun tournament, as Williams finished second in the league at 15.9 points per game, and Gregoire was sixth at 13.4. The junior also led the Dolphins in rebounding at a six per contest clip.

Campbell senior Marlena Murphy leads the Second-Team as the only A-Sun player this season to average a double-double. The Fayetteville, N.C. native recorded 12.4 points and 10 rebounds per game in her senior campaign. Joining Murphy as Second Team honorees were Belmont’s Brooke Sunday, Gardner-Webb’s Margaret Roundtree and a pair from first-year member Florida Gulf Coast, Chelsea Dermyer and Delia De La Torre.

"It is an honor to be recognized in the conference," said senior guard Chelsea Dermyer. "It isn't an individual accomplishment, it was a team effort. It wouldn't have happened without the success that our team had this season."

"I am extremely proud of receiving this award," said senior Forward Delia De La Torre. "It is not only an individual accomplishment, but it also recognizes the success that we have had as a team."

Hudson was a unanimous All-Freshman Team selection, and her twin sister Dominique joined her on thesquad. Stetson’s Tierra Brown, Lipscomb’s Jenna Bartsokas and conference freshman steals leader Juliemay Syquio also earned All-Freshman honors.

ETSU’s Karen Kemp led the Lady Bucs to their finest regular season in school history, as her squad amassed a 14-2 conference mark and claimed a regular season conference crown for just the second time in the program’s existence. The 2007 A-Sun Tournament runner-up, the Lady Bucs enter this season’s Championship with the top seed as they seek the school’s first-ever NCAA Tournament berth.

Kennesaw State’s Greteya Kelley was the run away choice for Defensive Player of the Year after she averaged a massive 3.79 steals per game.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Women’s Basketball 2008 Postseason Honors and Awards
Player of the Year: Brittney Henderson, Kennesaw State
Defensive Player of the Year: Greteya Kelley, Kennesaw State
Freshman of the Year: Monique Hudson, Gardner-Webb
Coach of the Year: Karen Kemp, ETSU

First Team All-Atlantic Sun
Siarre Evans (ETSU)
Michele DeVault (ETSU)
Virginia Gregoire (Jacksonville)
Ashley Williams (Jacksonville)
Britteny Henderson (Kennesaw State)

Second Team All-Atlantic Sun 
Brooke Sunday (Belmont) 
Marlena Murphy (Campbell)
Chelsea Dermyer (Florida Gulf Coast) 
Delia De La Torre (Florida Gulf Coast) 
Margaret Roundtree (Gardner-Webb)

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team 
*Monique Hudson (Gardner-Webb)
Dominique Hudson (Gardner-Webb)
Jenna Bartsokas (Lipscomb)
JulieMay Syquio (UNF)
Tierra Brown (Stetson)

* Unanimous Selection