Corradetti Named #ASunXC Academic All-Conference
Monday, November 11, 2013 | by Sara Roberts (@Saraannerob)

MACON, Ga. – Sophomore Courtney Corradetti (Oceanside, Calif./Vista HS) became the first FGCU women’s cross country runner to earn a spot on the Atlantic Sun Academic All-Conference team announced by the league office Monday.

“This honor is well-deserved for Courtney,” head coach Cassandra Goodson said. “She works hard to shine both in the classroom and on the course, and embodies what FGCU strives for in a student-athlete. I am very proud of her ability to lead the team at a young age and can’t wait to watch her progress in the coming seasons.”

Holding a perfect 4.0 GPA, the accounting major was the third athlete named to the team and is one of only two sophomores listed.

Appearing in all six races this season and all six races the team competed in during her rookie season, Corradetti has proved to be one of the Eagles top runners after just two years. Holding two of the season’s top times, Corradetti was the third FGCU runner to cross the finish line in four of this season’s races.

Highlighting Corradetti’s second season was her third-place overall finish in the Westminster Academy Collegiate Invite posting a 12:30.45 in the 3500m race, the second-fastest time in program history. Racing the Mountain Dew Invite 6k in a season-best 23:57.56, Corradetti placed 92nd out of 270 runners while posting the fifth-fastest time the Eagles saw this season.  Finishing 38th at A-Sun Championships, Corradetti clocked a season-best 19:49.05 in the 5k.

The only other member of the FGCU cross country teams to earn Academic All-Conference honors was Argeo Cruz (Immokalee, Fla./Immokalee HS), who was tabbed one of three unanimous selections to the 2011 inaugural team.


Tessa Hoefle (Lipscomb) - 4.00, Sr.      
Jessica Palmer (ETSU) - 3.78, Jr.                                
Courtney Corradetti (FGCU) - 4.00, So.      
Svenja Meyer (Jacksonville) - 3.89, Sr.      
Claire Bohrer (Kennesaw State) - 4.00, So.      
Kaitlyn Llewellyn (Lipscomb) - 4.00, Jr.        
Kelly Johnson (N. Kentucky) - 3.92, Sr.       

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Tessa Hoefle, Lipscomb