Eagles Trio Earns Post-Season Honors
Tuesday, May 06, 2008

Macon, Ga. – Senior Heather Hagerman, freshman Kastania Toomalatai and freshman Daniel Mazziotta have earned Atlantic Sun Conference post-season honors the conference office announced today. Hagerman was named to the second team All-Atlantic Sun, while Toomalatai and Mazziotta were named to the All-Freshman team.

Hagerman (New Port Richey, Fla.) led the Eagles to a first place finishes at the FGCU Invitational and NIU Springlake Invite. She tallied a 2nd place finish at the EKU El Diablo Intercollegiate, finished in a tie for third as the Eagles took third place at the Stetson Hatter Invitational and came in a tie for third at the University of Cincinnati Spring Invitational.

Toomalatai (Palm Coast, Fla.) has a solid rookie year for the Eagles finishing tied for 12th at the Stetson Hatter Invitational, taking 25th at the University of Cincinnati Spring Invitational and finishing 33rd (tied) at the LPGA International Xavier Invitational.

Mazziotta (Fort Myers, Fla.) earned his spot on the All-Freshman squad by leading the Eagles to a second place finish at Stetson/CFSC Invitational, finishing in third place at the North-South Invitational as the Eagles took first place as a team and taking fifth at the First Market Intercollegiate.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is a 12-member league committed to Building Winners for Life, with a focus on academic and athletic integrity and a balance between the two for the student-athlete, and maintaining a high level of sportsmanship. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun encompasses six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun consists of some of the most dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Gardner-Webb University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

A-Sun Men’s Golf Player of the Year: Gareth Shaw (ETSU)

Coach of the Year: Scott Schroeder (UNF)

Freshman of the Year: Rhys Enoch (ETSU)

First Team: * Gareth Shaw (ETSU), Rhys Enoch (ETSU), Josh Gallman (Upstate), Cody Hale (Lipscomb), Fredric Sundberg (Campbell)

Second Team: Zac Drescher (Campbell), Michael O'Neal (UNF), Seamus Power (ETSU), Michael Tulacz (KSU), Oliver West (Kennesaw St.)

All-Freshman Team: * Rhys Enoch (ETSU), Zac Drescher (Campbell), Chris Kennedy (UNF), Daniel Mazziota (FGCU), Matt Nagy (Kennesaw)

* Unanimous Choice


A-Sun Women’s Golf Player of the Year: Lorie Warren (Belmont)

Coach of the Year: Stefanie Shelton (ETSU)

Freshman of the Year: Sandra Angulo Minarro (Campbell)

First Team: * Laura Jansone (ETSU), * Lorie Warren (Belmont), Maite Ortiz de Pinedo (Campbell), Danielle Jackson (Stetson), Mary Mattson (Campbell)

Second Team: Natalia Giraldo (ETSU), Heather Hagerman (FGCU), Maria Ringdahl (ETSU), Sinead O'Sullivan (ETSU), Belen Diaz Cisneros (Campbell)

All-Freshman Team: * Lauren Spurlock (Belmont), Sandra Angulo Minarro (Campbell), Courtney Meyer (GWU), Danielle Gibb (JU), Kastania Toomalatai (FGCU)

* Unanimous Choice