Freshman Carlson Earns Post-Season Recognition
Friday, June 11, 2010

FORT MYERS, Fla. – FGCU freshman golfer Briana Carlson was named to the All-Atlantic Sun Conference second team and earned a unanimous selection to the All-Freshman team, as announced by the conference office on Friday.

Carlson picked up second team honors after seven top-10 finishes in nine tournaments, highlighted by a win at the season-opening Lady Eagle Invitational. The Inverness, Fla. native finished her freshman campaign by taking third place at the 2010 A-Sun Championship. Carlson joins Stetson’s Anna Hancock as the only unanimous selections to the All-Freshman team.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Alex Buelow - Stetson

First Team
Alex Buelow - Stetson
*Laura Jansone - ETSU
*Mary Mattson - Campbell
Nina Muehl - ETSU
Ket Premchuen - KSU
* Unanimous

Second Team
Sarah Bejgrowicz - Campbell
Briana Carlson - FGCU
Danielle Jackson - Stetson
Sinead O'Sullivan - ETSU
Mayte Vizcarrondo - ETSU

Alex Buelow - Stetson

All-Freshmen Team
Alex Buelow - Stetson
*Briana Carlson - FGCU
*Anna Hancock - Stetson
Ket Premchuen - KSU
Teresa Urquizu - Campbell
* Unanimous

Floyd Kerr - Stetson