FGCU Heads to Tampa for NIU Snowbird Intercollegiate
Wednesday, March 14, 2012 | by Caleb Baker (@calebaker)
Photo by Dennis Snyder
Photo by Dennis Snyder

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The FGCU women’s golf team will return to the course on Thursday morning as the 26th Annual Snowbird Intercollegiate, hosted by Northern Illinois, begins at the Pebble Creek Golf Club in Tampa, Fla. The tournament gets underway on Thursday morning and will conclude with a final round on Friday.

FGCU hits the course with 10 other schools, including Chicago State, host Northern Illinois, Southern Illinois and Youngstown State.

Leading FGCU into the competition is senior Fabienne Haremza (Wilderman, South Africa/Glenwood House/Lamar University), who has been the Eagles’ top finisher in four of the six tournaments this year. Rounding out the four-member Green and Blue squad at the competition is sophomore Megan Van Etten (Trinity, Fla./J.W. Mitchell HS), and the freshmen duo of Georgia Price (Winchester, England/Fort Myers HS) and Chelsea Guoynes (Traverse City, Mich./Traverse City Central HS).

The 18-hole "Pebble Creek" course at the Pebble Creek Golf Club facility features 6,436 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 71. The course rating is 71.1 and it has a slope rating of 127 on Bermuda grass. Pebble Creek golf course opened in 1968.

Last week at the Hurricane Invitational in Miami, Fla., the Eagles lowered their mark in each of the final two rounds, shooting a 338-327-326/991 to place 15th overall. Van Etten was the top finisher for the Green and Blue, placing in a share of 43rd on the 85-player leaderboard with a score of 85-79-76/240.

Results and recaps from each day of the tournament will be available at www.FGCUAthletics.com.

FGCU Participants
Fabienne Haremza – Sr.
Megan Van Etten – So.
Chelsea Guoynes – Fr.
Georgia Price – Fr.

Tournament Field (11 schools)
Chicago State
John A. Logan College
Laval University (Canada)
McNeese State
Northern Illinois
Southern Illinois
University of Illinois at Springfield
University of Tampa
Youngstown State