Hagerman selected to NCAA Women's Golf Regional
Tuesday, April 26, 2005
FORT MYERS, Fla. – The NCAA has selected the teams and individuals that will compete in the Division II South Region Women’s Golf tournament, hosted by Florida Southern College. The regional will be held at the Lone Palm Golf Club in Lakeland with two rounds on Monday, May 2 and a single round on Tuesday May 3. FGCU freshman Heather Hagerman (New Port Richey, Fla.) is one of just three individuals selected for the tournament and the first FGCU women’s golfer to compete in an NCAA regional. Hagerman, who finished in the top 10 in seven of eight tournaments this season, had a 76.5 stroke average this season. She won the Florida State Lady Seminole Invitational and finished second in two other tournaments. “She has played so solid all spring that it is not surprising to see her selected,” said Eagles fifth-year head coach Holly Vaughn. “This is a very strong field but she has earned her chance to compete in the regional.” The other individual players selected were Barry University freshman RemiJim Camping, who won the Sunshine State Conference, and junior Paige Haverty of Catawba College, who won the South Atlantic Conference tournament for the second straight year. The South Regional field features five teams ranked in the top 10 of the National Golf Coaches Association Division II national poll. The top seed is two-time defending national champion Rollins College, currently ranked No.1 in the nation. Florida Southern, ranked third nationally, is the second seeded team. Sixth-ranked Central Arkansas is the third seed. No. 14 Nova Southeastern, No. 9 West Florida and No. 7 Lynn round out the field. Hagerman will begin first round play on Monday, May 2, teeing off at 8:00 a.m. with Camping and Haverty. The top three seeded teams will play each other in the first two rounds, as will the bottom three seeded teams. The second round will be played Monday afternoon with the final round set for Tuesday morning at 8:00 a.m. The top two teams and top two individuals not with one of those teams will advance to the NCAA Division II National Tournament to be played at The Championship Course at the University of New Mexico, in Albuquerque, May 11-14. Rollins has won the last two regional titles and has the last two individual regional champions on their roster.