McCall and Powers Earn Conference Honors After a 2-0 Week
Monday, September 28, 2009

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Amber McCall earned Player of the Week laurels by netting two game-winning goals for the Eagles while teammate Stephanie Powers allowed only one goal in two matches to earn conference defensive honors, the league office announced on Monday.

McCall, a senior midfielder, led the Eagles’ offense last week, collecting two game winners as FGCU defeated Mercer on Friday and Kennesaw State on Sunday. McCall, a native of Fort Myers, Fla., notched her first game winner against Mercer in the 63rd minute, the criminal justice major, one-timed a cross put the Eagles up 2-1 to give the Eagles their sixth win of the season. At Kennesaw State, McCall scored the lone goal in the 34th to move FGCU to 2-0 in conference play, and lead the Eagles to their seventh win in their last eight games.

Powers, sophomore goalkeeper, recorded her fifth and sixth wins, and collected her fifth shutout of the season last week. Powers, the Seffner, Fla. native, came away with nine saves and only allowed one goal, as the Eagles have now won seven of their last eight games. Against Mercer, Powers had six saves to lead the Eagles to a 2-1 win in FGCU’s A-Sun opener. At Kennesaw State, Powers came up with three saves to earn her A-Sun leading fifth shutout of the season.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.