Gabou Named NCAA Women's Tennis Regional Chair
Tuesday, September 14, 2010
Third-year FGCU head coach selected to chair Southeast Region

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Entering her third season at the helm of the FGCU women’s tennis program, head coach Jennifer Gabou has been named the Chair of the NCAA Women’s Tennis Southeast Region Committee for the 2010-11 season.

Gabou will chair a committee that also includes Roland Thornquist of Florida, Jennifer Hyde of Florida State, Jeff Wallace from Georgia, Stephanie Nickitas of UCF and Rodrigo Puebla from fellow Atlantic Sun member UNF. The Southeast Region is made up of 19 teams.

“I’m very honored to be named the ITA Southeast Chair,” said Gabou, who will lead the Eagles into their first tournament of the fall this weekend at FGCU. “The Southeast Region is one of the strongest in the nation. Florida made it to the NCAA National Team Championship final and Chelsea Gullickson of Georgia captured a NCAA National Individual Championship. I look forward to representing our region.”

Besides overseeing a regional committee comprised of 4-5 voting members, Gabou will also serve as an ITA National Ranking Committee member and an ITA National Tournament Committee member. Amongst her many responsibilities, Gabou will help determine the at-large and wild card selections for ITA National Tournaments, work the ITA Fall Regional Tournament in Athens, Ga., and determine the region award winners.

Gabou and the Eagles return two players that earned A-Sun postseason honors a year ago from a team that tied for fourth in the conference regular season standings at 6-4. Redshirt senior Jessica Sweeting (Freeport, Bahamas/USF) was named to the All-Conference second team in doubles action after posting a 13-5 record. Sophomore Morgan Bechtel (Toledo, Ohio/St. Ursula Academy) earned a spot on the A-Sun All-Freshmen team after leading the Eagles in overall singles victories (13-5) and A-Sun singles wins (9-1)

FGCU will begin its 2010 Fall campaign by hosting the FGCU Fall Classic. The three-day event will begin on Friday, Sept. 17 and run through Sunday, Sept. 19, featuring Barry University, Florida Institute of Technology and the State College of Florida. Doubles action will kick-off each day, beginning on Friday at 1 p.m. at the FGCU Tennis Complex.

Florida State  
Georgia Southern
Georgia State
Georgia Tech
Kennesaw State